The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

the warrior heirBlurb: All that Jackson Downey Swift wants is to be a normal teenager and to make the varsity soccer team. When he was born, he had a heart defect and had surgery to fix it. Jack now has to take medicine every single day for his heart, or so he was told. On the day of soccer tryouts, he forgets to take his medicine, but he feels totally fine all day, in fact, he feels stronger. When his Aunt Linda takes Jack and his two friends, Fitch and Will out for the weekend, Jack gets thrust into the world of Wizards, Warriors, Enchanters, and Sorcerers.

Thoughts: I’ll admit when I went into this book I was expecting something completely different then what I got. For some reason I had it in my head that this took place back in the early/mid-1900s but it’s not, it’s set in our time. I also felt like it took a long time for me to really get into the book. Although, once you get about 150 pages in, it gets GOOD really fast.

The world that Chima developed really fascinated me. I loved the concept of each guild and how in each guild there could be good or bad Wizards (for example.) The poor Warriors though, they’re basically destined to die, which sucks. If I had to chose a guild I would want to be an Enchanter because I thought Linda’s character was so cool and her ability was pretty useful.

Jack, as a character, really grew on me through the book. He started to take control of his own life and he just really matured. The first instance when I really thought Jack was a good character was in the grave yard, digging up the sword, that was a really awesome scene. Personally, Fitch and Will never grew on me. I didn’t dislike them, but I didn’t really like them either, so they were just kind of there. I have to admit, my favorite character is by far Ellen. She’s brave, cunning and just really kickass. In the diner, when she poured the hot fudge on Leesha, oh that was good. Ellen is one of those characters that she’s so well developed, you can’t not like her.

A few of the things that were done super well in this book were the fight scenes, the relationship developments, platonic and non-platonic and the twists. A lot of the twists that the author put in, I wasn’t expecting at all. I won’t spoiler them for you here though. However, the main thing that bugged me the most was that there was a lot of information dumps and the storyline progressed a little slow in the beginning.

4/5
4/5
2 thoughts on “The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

Leave a Reply

