Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell | Book Review

fangirlBlurb: Cath is going off to college with her twin sister, Wren. Cath is also terrified to leave her father alone because he’s never really been without his two little girls. She’s also a Simon Snow fan, but to her it’s not a hobby, it’s a life style. Cath writes fanfiction, but when she goes to college that threatens to stop. Not only that, her roommate has a cute ‘boyfriend’ always hanging around in their room. Can Cath survive her first year of college?

Thoughts: Let me start out by saying, Cath has to be the most relatable character ever. When reading this book I couldn’t help but to start seeing myself in her position. Cath is quirky and funny, but she’s also scared to trust someone that’s not her sister. I love reading and writing, much like Cath does, and I remember going to the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows midnight release with my family, like Cath did with her sister for the final Simon Snow book. I loved watching Cath’s character really develop and how much of that development came from Reagan pushing her to do new things.

Of course, in a Rowell book, we have our love interest, Levi. Levi is such a good character, he’s sweet, kind, and unbelievably understanding of Cath. By far, my favorite scene was our first little Cath/Levi moment, when she’s reading to him from The Outsiders. That was SO adorable!

One thing that I really liked about this book was, not all the focus was on Levi and Cath. While we did see a lot of them (yay!) we also saw how Cath’s relationships developed with other people, like Reagan, Nick, Wren, and her dad. I got so scared when Wren had to go to the hospital from drinking too much, that was really nerve-racking. Then, their mom just got up and left without saying goodbye to Wren. That’s when I understood why Cath hates Laura so much.

I loved basically every part of this book, except for the fact that it was too short! I want more of Cath’s story and I especially wanted to see how her dad got better, if he did! There should be a spin-off from Wren’s point of view. πŸ™‚

5/5
5/5
Leave a Reply

