Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review

unravel meBlurb: Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Thoughts: Overall, I did like this book much better then the first one in the series, Shatter Me. Although, there was still some things in this book that bothered me, so let’s get to the review.

If you ask me to think of an unreliable narrator, I will immediately think of Juliette. I don’t think I’ve ever been as frustrated with a protagonist as I was with Juliette in the beginning of this book. Everything that she did was for herself or Adam. She refused to try and make friends at Omega Point, even with her fancy new suit on. The way how she was so obsessed with Adam and didn’t branch out bugged me so much and if Juliette just said what was on her mind instead of sitting there wallowing in her own sadness, her life would’ve been so much better. I was so happy when Kenji gave her that speech and she really started to change, it made the book so much better. Also, around half way through, Juliette started cooperating more and she redeemed herself a bit.

I loved Kenji in this book. We never really got to know him in the last book and I think his character developed so wonderfully this time. He’s hilarious, but he can also be kind and serious, plus his ability is awesome. My favorite parts in the novel were definitely the Kenji/James moments, they were so cute and it really showed how strong James is as a character.

Before you read this one, I think you should definitely read the novella (Destroy Me) first because it really shines some light on the Warner/Juliette relationship building in this book. Speaking of that relationship, I found I like Juliette much better when she’s with Warner. Not only is she more confident, but she doesn’t have to worry about him as much because he’s actually capable of taking care of himself. There’s also the whole situation of how Adam literally weakens Juliette while Warner makes her stronger.

Since I took a break from Shatter Me before reading Unravel Me, I did need time to re-adjust to the writing style. Much like Mafi’s last book, Unravel Me has that very poetic and descriptive writing that once you get used to it, can be quite beautiful. Once I adjusted, I started liking the book much more.

I do think I will continue on with the series and read Ignite Me because there was a lot of interesting topics touched on in this novel, which left lots of questions. I also want to see how Mafi will play out the whole brother thing because I was really shocked by this twist.

3/5
3/5
2 thoughts on “Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review

Leave a Reply

