If I Stay by Gayle Forman | Book Review

if i styaBlurb: In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

Thoughts: Gayle Forman has a stunning talent of putting such a beautiful and powerful story into a book. If I Stay is the first book that I’ve read by her, but I definitely want to pick up more of her books!

The whole idea of the book is Mia’s decision to stay in our world, or if it’s her time to leave. In the final pages of my book (e-book version) there’s a discussion question: Can the book be called If I Leave? Why or why not? Personally, I really think If I Stay is a good title because Mia has to go through so much grief, loss, and acceptance in such a short amount of time that leaving would be the easy choice. In her case, staying is really hard because she’s lost her entire family and she’s also really close to losing herself. Additionally, Mia really does want to stay, so the novel is also about seeing how her life will change if she stays, which affects her thought process.

Music is also a huge part of the book, which was such a wonderful addition to the book because we never really see any musically talented protagonists in YA. I loved Mia’s interaction with music and how it shaped and formed her life because every bit about it was so true. I knew how Mia would feel going up there on the stage for the first time, and all the times after that. It was so wonderfully written and I just really loved all the classical music references.

Adam and Kim were both such strong characters, you could clearly see how much they both loved Mia. When Adam planned that distraction in the ICU, just to see Mia, I was tearing up a bit because the lengths that he would go to to see her were so touching. The bonding moments between Kim and Mia were so much fun to see, because it’s not often that we get to see how a friendship came to be, it was just really sweet.

I loved this book, but I can’t give it 5 stars because I was so mad at the ending! I’m sitting in my bed, reading along on my nook and I’m on page 123 out of 174. I’m really not expecting the book to end any time soon, so I just keep reading. Oh was I wrong.

“Mia?” he asks.

Boom. Book done. This ending just bugged me so much because the story isn’t done! I really just wanted at least 20 pages of after she wakes up, how she feels, if she remembers anything from her ghost form, how she reacts to her family’s death, anything! At the same, I understand why this was the ending. The book was about Mia’s journey and about her decisions, so naturally, when she wakes up it would be appropriate for the book to end.

4/5
4/5

I really want to see the movie now…

Leave a Reply

