Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

lolaBlurb: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the negihborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Thoughts: This is one of those books where I liked it right after finishing it, but the more I thought about it, the more problems arose. Now, I’m not saying it was a bad book, but this Perkins book wasn’t for me.

The first big issue I had was our protagonist, Lola! Lola is a quirky character, she goes crazy with the whole outfits thing, wearing wigs and extravagant clothing everyday. While this isn’t a bad thing, it most certainly isn’t something I would do. Lola is also quite annoying at times, she makes rash decisions that often emotionally hurt the people around her. Her dads, Nathan and Andy, care so much about her but Lola keeps pushing them away. Whenever I read contemporary, the parents are either huge jerks, or super nice but the main character pushes them away, which annoys me because not all parent/child relationships are like that.

Okay, this next issue is something that just isn’t okay to put in a book. Before Lola reunites with Cricket she’s dating a man named Max. Now, Max is older then Lola and there’s nothing wrong with that, but then Perkins says that Lola is only 17, while he’s 22. I almost stopped reading here because it’s not right to tell young girls that it’s okay to date someone who is over 18, while you’re underage.

I’m not sure about you, but I felt awfully bored reading this novel because of the lack of a plot. The entire book is just; Lola did this, Lola made a bad choice, The Bell twins moved in, Lola still has feelings for Cricket. I just wanted more depth to the story.

Despite all the things I didn’t enjoy, there was some elements of the story that I did enjoy. I really liked Cricket’s character, despite the odd name, he’s sweet and very straight forwards, and he’s fun to read about. The Cricket and Lola moments were adorable and cute, however I wish there was more of them together and less of the build-up (as much as I enjoy the build-up.) Admittedly, my favorite part was all the Anna and St. Clair snapshots (from Anna and the French Kiss) because it gave me more of their actual relationship, which is très adorable.

3 out of 5
3/5
4 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

Leave a Reply

