Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl | Unfinished Book Review

beautiful creaturesBlurb: Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Thoughts: So, I didn’t actually finish this book, I stopped close to 150 pages in because I really wasn’t liking this and didn’t feel the need to continue. Funny enough, this is already my second attempt to read this book and I really wanted to give it a chance, get into the story, ect. but I just cannot get into this novel.

While I think the idea/plot line of the story can be very interesting, I don’t think it was executed very well. I’ve been having extreme issues getting into the story and characters and it is just very bland to me; for a reference I started reading this on September 21st and got to page 143 by October 4th.

I found the biggest issue being the main characters, Ethan and Lena were so insufferable, especially Lena. She was awfully rude to her only friend, just because she didn’t want to tell him something and then she doesn’t tell us for freaking 150 pages. Lena, Ethan just wants to be your friend and help you, stop being a brat. It was also a bit creepy how Ethan had this absolute insta-love with this girl he’s never even met, just saying.

For a paranormal/love/what the hell is going on book, the plot was really slow. It’s just Ethan goes to school, meets the new girl who also happens to be the girl in his dreams, find a locket, have some weird telepathic conversions (I really don’t get that.) Overall, the plot was in some desperate need for some action.

2-out-of-5-stars-pic
2/5

I do realize some of my questions/confusion may have come from not finishing the novel, but I don’t have the patient to keep reading to find out. Also, just because I didn’t enjoy this book doesn’t mean that you won’t either. If the premise sparks your interest but you aren’t sure about it, head to your local library and try it out! I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl | Unfinished Book Review

  1. I don’t know, from what I’m hearing from your review, you did give the book its fair amount of chances. Characters that are frustrating beyond compare are the worst. I’ve seen this series around quite a lot, but I’m not sure I want to pick it up now. Thanks x

    Like

Leave a Reply

