The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Book Review

the-blood-of-olympus-coverBlurb: Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Thoughts: First of all, let’s put it out there that I adore this series, especially Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I feel as if I’ve grown up with Percy and the gang, so when the final PJ came out, you could say I was excited. However, I must admit that this wasn’t Riordan’s best book (which is sad.) I found it didn’t have that really epic ending that The Last Olympian had.

My biggest issue is that there was NO Percy chapters! He’s been your main character for 10 books, doesn’t he deserve a chapter or two? Don’t get me wrong, I loved reading the Nico and Reyna chapters, but I needed more of our original duo. Also, the book seemed really short. It only had 502 pages and was definitely the shortest out of all the Heroes of Olympus series.

Spoiler-ish warning! I tried not to reveal any HUGE details, but if you haven’t read it yet, I’d recommend picking it up.

Okay. I freaking loved Nico in this book. His character developed so wonderfully and we just really got to see more of how Nico actually feels and it made me so happy. Some of my favorite Nico parts definitely had to be all the moments where he just really stood up for himself and kicked some serious booty, also picturing Nico in a tropical shirt is so hilarious. Seeing him finally confess to Percy that he had a crush on him was so sweet and I (personally) think that the Will/Nico bonding stuff was super cute.

Reyna also became one of my favorite point of views to read because she feels like such a real character. Her troubles and issues felt so painfully true and yet she’s strong enough to push them back and keep marching forward. I really admired her for that. Her relationship growth with Annabeth and Piper was so heartwarming and I’m glad that Reyna found some people that she could confide in. Also, when she hugged Nico at the end? Too cute.

The other POVs were a bit lackluster (except for Leo’s, we’ll get to that.) While Jason and Piper’s weren’t the most fun to read, I felt as if their characters redeemed themselves a bit in this novel. Hey, Jason didn’t get knocked out like 5 times this books, so there’s an improvement. Although, he did get impaled with an Imperial Gold spear- but eh, you can’t have everything. Leo’s POVs were hilarious, as always and I loved how he got re-united with Calypso at the end. Yet, I did cry when I thought that Leo was actually dead (well, he was, but then he wasn’t.) It was still very emotional. Also, we had very little Frank, Hazel, Percy, and Annabeth in this book which sucked. I wanted to see how Percy and Annabeth felt after returning from Tartarus, which was touched on very little.

Plot wise, I found BoO the least exciting, which is really sad for me. The ending just wasn’t a huge epic woah that’s awesome moment. In fact, I’m kinda mad at the ending because I’m looking at my book, there’s about 40 pages left and Gaea has just risen from the ground? Nope, not enough. The whole Gaea battle wasn’t epic at all, there was no true struggle and there wasn’t that earth shattering (get it? Earth shattering? Haha, sorry) battle. The battle between the Giants and the gods/demigods was cooler, I loved how the gods fought with their children.

Overall, I still thoroughly enjoyed reading this final installment in the Heroes of Olympus series but, I think there could have been some changed that would’ve pushed it from good to awesome. Anyways, sorry for this ‘review’ and how it’s just kinda a fangirly review, but feel free to share your feelings on the book, I’d love to know!

4/5
4/5
One thought on “The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan | Book Review

Leave a Reply

