The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski | Book Review

the winner's curseBlurb: As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.
One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.
But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.


Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Thoughts (Spoil Free!): The Winner’s Curse is such a definite read for me. The character and plot were rich and full of unexpected turns and the story was told in such a beautiful voice. All of the new words that come from it being a fantasy novel are a bit confusing at first, but you’ll get it soon enough.

Kestrel was such a fascinating character to read from because the choices that she made were often bold and straight forwards, which I find is such a great way to understand the character. She also had some really kickass moments that I truly appreciated reading. Arin has to be one of my new favorite characters just because of how complex and mysterious his character is. I loved how Arin’s backstory was unfolded and how it played into the present time in the book. Now, at first, I was a bit tentative on how I felt about the feelings developing between Arin and Kestrel, but by the end of the book I grasping for more scenes between them because of how they work as a pair. Basically, I adore them.

In this (soon to be) series there is a super awesome world that is developed. When I first started reading, I wasn’t sure if I would like this kind of book a lot, but the way the politics were playing out kept me very intrigued. Reading how different people would treat their slaves shocked me because I didn’t expect that much variety between the classes.

I really wish to keep this review totally spoiler-free because you do not want to be spoiled of how this novel plays out (here’s a tip, it’s super good.)

5/5
5/5

A quick excuse for my absence: You might’ve noticed that it’s been a while since my last post! I’m so sorry to leave you guys without any notice, but lately I’ve been a bit of a reading slump which means I didn’t feel like posting on my blog. Since I wasn’t feeling up to posting, I took a break since I don’t want to put any bad quality stuff on here! Thanks for understanding and I’ll be back more regularly now. 🙂

One thought on “The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski | Book Review

Leave a Reply

