Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

Isla and the happily ever afterBlurb: Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Thoughts: How I feel on this book leads me to believe that’s I’ve out grown Perkins writing style, the cutesy, everything will end perfectly style. Trust me, I love a good chic-flick in book form but I need more conflict! Conflict that has me tearing up because it leads me to think our couple isn’t going to last. Isla just didn’t do that for me. Needless to say, I still flew through this book because it was an interesting read, but a lot of things about it really bugged me.

First of all, Isla was so annoying to read and seeing the relationship build from her perspective didn’t help. I honestly thought I was going to like Isla from the page or so we saw her in Anna, but that didn’t happen. The biggest issue is that she didn’t feel like a hopeless romantic to me. Her actions were a bit borderline stalker like and it seemed like Isla was in love of the idea of being in love, not actually in love with Josh. She also a very high maintenance person, she needs to be constantly told when she did good and blames everything bad on herself, then looks for support from Josh.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Josh. He’s quirky, cute, and I’ve never read a book where a character is an artist, so that was interesting to see. Josh is also great about giving Isla the support that she needs, but she doesn’t really return the favor. The scene where Josh gave his first draft of his comic was really cringe inducing because Isla was so upset that she only had eight pages, i just wanted to scream at her that they’ve been together for about a month and the book was all four of Josh’s years at school (Do the math, it’s about 2% of all 48 months). I honestly just don’t like them together, I felt as if the relationship progressed way to fast and we didn’t get enough of the cute, awkward, first-dating scenes. Then, the way that they broke up was really upsetting to me because it wasn’t a very clear break up, I wasn’t actually positive that they broke up until Kurt asked Isla about it.

One thing that Perkins did do that got a big thumbs up from me, is having a character be friends and truly support and care about someone like Kurt, who has a disease that just makes them different. The author really attempted to show that just because someone else is different, doesn’t make them a bad person. It was all very touching to read.

Basically, Perkins creates a beautiful backdrop for story and her male characters are very swoon worthy and unique but her female protagonists often annoy me quite a bit because they’re immature and can’t just say what they’re feeling. In order of favorite to least, it’s definitely Anna first, Lola second, and then Isla. Overall, I was quite disappointed by this installment, even though I think it has great potential.

2-out-of-5-stars-pic
2/5

Anna Review | Lola Review

Leave a Reply

