Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

crown of midnightBlurb: From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiancesโ€”not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Thoughts: What a fantastic sequel. Typically, I find the second book in a series to be dull, a let down compared to the first, but Crown of Midnight didn’t disappoint. The story started out full of action, and it kept that pace throughout the whole story. Not only was there plenty of action to keep us entertained, but there were mysteries, romances, and sassy assassins.

I loved how much more we got to know our characters. Seeing Celaena switch from being a caring young woman to a totally kick ass assassin was very entertaining to read. In Throne of Glass I was sometimes unsure of why she won the competition so easily (easy compared to the stuff she goes through in this book) but that was cleared up in this book. Celaena is stealthy, quick, and not afraid to do what she has to do. I loved the scenes where she negotiates with Archer, I found them so funny because she never backed down and always got the time frame that she wanted, not what Archer had suggested. Also, seeing how Celaena and Chaol’s relationship developed made me unbelievably happy because I find that she works so much better with Chaol then Dorian. Chaol is also such a sweetheart in this book, reading about Celaena from his point of view just melted my heart. When he brought he the chocolate cake, that also melted my heart.

Chaol is always there for Celaena, he helps her train and he helps her through times of trouble. Such as when Celaena is poisoned by Davis, Chaol is there to make sure she recovers. When that demon from the portal was attacking her and Fleetfoot, Chaol was there, even if they weren’t on the best of terms at the time. Their relationship makes me so happy and I hope that they get a sweet reunion in Heir of Fire.

I must admit, I teared up a bit when Nehemia died. I always liked her character, even though she was shrouded in mystery. There’s still so many unanswered questions that I have about Nehemia that I hope Celaena and Chaol can figure out. Although I’m quite satisfied with Celaena’s procedure in avenging Nehemia, it was very clever (and funny) to give Mullison Grave’s head.

The mystery/story that was set up in this novel, the Wyrdkeys and Wyrdmarks was super fascinating and I want to know more about the castle and Dorian’s family/bloodline because Maas set up a very intriguing story line with the magic. I do hope that Celaena will be able to uncover more about the keys in Wendlyn. I also can’t wait to read about how Celaena’s fae blood plays out.

5/5
ย 5/5
2 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

  1. This book is fabulous! Chaolaena is my favorite coupke ever. I really need to read the 3rd one and the prequel. Nice review! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

