Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern | Book Review

say what you willBlurb: Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

Thoughts: I must admit, this is a difficult review to write. My feelings for this book are all over the place, at times I was loving it and at other times I wanted to chuck my nook out the window. I wasn’t expecting a whole lot because I got on the ‘Books for under 2$ section’ and I thought the blurb was interesting.

I love the premise of this book, the author plays with difficult topics and, for the most part, executes them quite well. Many people take OCD as a joke, saying “Oh, I’m so OCD about some things” and it was nice to see some light shined on the seriousness of the disease. I’ve heard of Amy’s disorder, and it was super cool to read from her point of view, seeing her struggle with (and overcome) the annoying part of being disabled.

Say What You Will and I were getting along pretty well until the end. Before that, I was quite enjoying the characters, even though I like most of the peer helpers more the Amy herself. The writing style was witty and fun, although having Amy’s Pathwalkler be in ALL CAPS WAS KIND OF ANNOYING TO READ. Then, the end came.

I almost stopped reading when Amy became a total bitch and decided to only give a damn about herself. I understand that she had a very controlling mother and has never had the chance to be herself, but here’s Matthew, this sweet adorable boy, who she treats like crap. There is such much constant conflict in this book, like every chapter McGovern introduces a new conflict and it’s too much. Maybe it’s to convey the idea that people who has disabilities have more conflict in their life, but it was poorly planned. By the 3/4 point there was very little happy or funny scenes and it turned into Amy making bad decisions, which gets tiring to read.

Overall, this was an okay read. If you want a book dealing with some tough issues, I would recommend this to you, but it is not a light and fluffy contemporary read. I did feel like it was long, even though it was just over 200 pages. The story was slightly slow paced at times, so if that’s your thing, go for it.

3/5
3/5
Leave a Reply

