Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review

ignite meBlurb: With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

Thoughts (non-spoilers): I must admit, going into this book, I wasn’t expecting to love it. I was so, so very wrong. This installment of the Shatter Me series is fantastic. The characters really redeem themselves, the writing style is so much better to read and the metaphors are so beautifully placed.

In Shatter Me and Unravel Me, Juliette annoyed the hell out of me. She’s a weak, unstable character and she ran away from anything to scared her even the slightest bit. New Juliette is awesome, she’s such a strong protagonist now and isn’t afraid to defend herself against anyone, whether it’s Adam or Anderson. Even the writing style portrays how much Juliette has grown. The cross outs are completely gone, the metaphors relate more to Juliette being strong and we see her in this new light that started to redeem this series.

Ignite Me definitely made it onto my favorite list and it redeemed the series as a whole. Reading it now, I understand why Mafi wrote the first two books like she did. It’s because she wanted to give us the epic-est last book ever, and she certainly accomplished that. I flew through the book, it’s 408 pages and I read it in about 4-5 hours. There is so much action, so many wonderful scenes between characters and was so well developed from the last two novels.

Before we get to the spoiler part, I just want to say that the cover is beautiful. If you think about it, the covers represent Juliette’s growth. Shatter me is dark and there’s very little color, just like how Juliette was unstable and locked up for most of her life. In Unravel Me, there’s a little more color, even though most of it is white. The white shows that she starting become more comfortable and that she beginning to grow into this strong, fierce protagonist. Ignite Me is an explosion of color, just like Juliette’s sudden urge to fight back and be strong.

This is will spoil you. Read the book: I’m having to type this a few days after I finish the book because I can’t even contain my feels right now. I was so shocked about how many times I almost cried, at how many times I laughed and how much I overall loved this book.

Warner. I love him so much, oh my gosh. We learn so much more about him in this book and we get so many Warnette scenes, which were all so fabulous to read. I loved how much we got to learn about Warner’s background and how others from Omega Point grew to see Warner as the person Juliette does. He’s very protective over Juliette, especially when Adam is being a dick to her, which is a lot of the times. I just love him, okay? Winston ships it too.

I seriously wanted to throttle Adam. He was being so rude to Juliette and the majority of the time it wasn’t even called for it. He didn’t even bother to think about how it might affect James or Kenji, how the others might react to their leader losing his shit (I’m sorry for the language, but I can’t help it when talking about Adam). It’s was so frustrating to read because Adam wouldn’t listen to Juliette when he needed. Kenji had to step in and be there for Juliette, which was super cute. I loved how Kenji and Juliette’s relationship grew in this book, they were always there for each other and Jules even made Kenji go all soft and mushy.

The ending was so awesome! I was so proud of Jules when she finally shot Anderson, like you go girl! Before that though, when she broke his ankles, ouch. I loved how it ended, with Juliette taking over The Reestablishment, it really helped show how much Juliette has grown throughout the series. All of the training sessions before the attack were great to read, watching Juliette finally master her ability, learning to control it so she can touch people and realizing that she was so useless in Shatter Me.

“You’re like a freaking beast,” he says. Then adds, “I mean, you know- like a cute beast. A little beast that tears shit up and breaks the earth and sucks the life out of people.”

-Kenji, pg 160 (This was so great)

5/5
5/5
6 thoughts on “Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review

  1. I felt the same way about Shatter Me and Unravel Me! 😀 I actually didn’t even consider that Juliette could be this better, stronger, twice as kickass character until I finally read Ignite Me and realized I like her *so much better* this way! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

