The DUFF | Movie Review

the duffBlurb: A high school senior instigates a social pecking order revolution after finding out that she has been labeled the DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) to her prettier more popular friends.

Thoughts: I’m going to be honest with you guys, I went to go see this without reading the book first. I know, it’s bad, but I probably wouldn’t have gone because I have a million other books to read. Anyways, let’s get into the review.

I didn’t think I would like this movie, it sounded very cliche and not super interesting, but I loved it! The DUFF helps shine some light on the issue of cyber bullying and it portrayed how painful it can actually be. Bianca was a great character, she was independent and stuck to what she believed. It was hilarious watching her struggle to fit in with the ‘norm’ of society.

Speaking of hilarious, this movie definitely got a good few laughs out of me. I don’t typically laugh a whole lot in theaters and such (I know, weird) but I was cracking up during this. You could tell that the places where it was suppose to be funny, it was although the movie was serious during the correct scenes.

The actors had wonderful chemistry and I felt as if they truly brought the characters alive. You could feel the tension between Bianca and Wesley, the friendship between Bianca, Jess, and Casey, and especially the angst of the “queen bee” Madison.

At times, the plot did remind of some classic movies like Mean Girls. High school girl doesn’t always fit in and she starts trying to fit it more. It all goes peachy until things start to spiral out of control, typically with a bullying issue. All of the issues get solved in the end, protagonist makes up with friends and gets the guy. However, it was still a cute, quirky little movie.

In the end, I believe this is a great pick-me-up movie because the scenes were wonderfully cute and funny, the overall plot was very light and fluffy and the actors killed it. Although, I would love to hear what you thought about the movie, especially if you’ve both seen it and read the book.

4/5
4/5
3 thoughts on “The DUFF | Movie Review

  1. I just saw The Duff this weekend too (without having read the book- I just didn’t have time!) and I thought it was cute (and definitely not as clichΓ© as I thought it would be!) but I didn’t think it was quite on par with Mean Girls ( I think Mean Girls had a lot more of a deeper and nuanced critique of high school bullying, and a lot of the elements in this movie felt like they copied a lot from Mean Girls). I also felt that while it focused on cyber bullying, there wasn’t much resolution to the issue (the admin never seemed to find out who was behind it or dole out any punishment). All in all though I thought it was cute and I actually felt the romantic build-up was believable!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

