Bookish Struggles | Mini-Discussion #3

Reading SlumpsAs book lovers, we all understand and can to relate to book lovers, however for others this seems like an impossible task. Although, being a complete and utter book nerd can have it’s problems, so I thought it would be fun to compile a list of bookish struggles that we all face.

1. Questions are terrible- We all get asked them. We respond, we truly do, but do other people understand? No. Let’s take a look at some of those annoying questions.

  • What are some of your favorite hobbies? I like to read. Uhh.. That’s it? Don’t you get bored by reading? Well, no because it’s something that I enjoy and I find it helps me- Okay, whatever.
  • Why do you buy so many books? Why not just check them out from the library? Look. You might collect postage stamps and I’m not judging you, am I?
  • What’s your favorite book? Well, I’ve got some favorites, but you couldn’t possible expect me to narrow it down to one, but I do love…
  • Why do you read so much?? Reading sucks. *silence*
  • Hey can I borrow this book?

2. People don’t understand why we get excited- I’ve ranted to my friends/family letting them know how excited I am for a new release but they just don’t understand why a person could be excited for ~400 pages of words. I like those words, okay?

3. Reading in public- I feel like it should be a universal sign that if someone is reading a book, that’s not a good time to bother them. Reading in public is such a struggle and do people respect your reading time? Nope. They never do. Don’t even get me started on having a major case of the feels in public.

4. Getting comfy- There’s never a comfortable way to read.Reading should become a sport because some of the comfortable positions we get in are very complicated. If any of you have found the perfect way to relax and read, please share it with the rest of us because we want to know your secrets.

5. Book scoffers- Scenario time: You’re reading Harry Potter in public and someone comes up to you and scoffs at you for reading a “children’s book”. Oh please, do you only read Charles Dickens? Now go away and let me read my so called “children’s book” in peace.

5. Cover changes- Rarely, cover changes are these magical events that can make a book/series 100x better then it was before. However, this is not always the case. Most of time, cover changes are the most annoying thing ever, especially when they change in the middle of a series! Also, I would like to call out publishing companies on one little mistake. I have three series where I either looked super hard or paid extra to get a paperback for the last book in the series, believing they would all match. Did they? NO! The third Mara Dyer is shorter then the rest, Ignite me is way taller, and Isla is insanely short compared to Lola and Anna.

6. Stickers- This one gets it’s own category because stickers are officially the worst. If I pay for a nice pretty hardback copy of a book, I don’t care if it’s soon to be a major motion picture. Please just stop with the stickers because we all know that they don’t come off without a fight.

7. Waiting- Waiting for the next book in series is stupidly annoying. We typically have to wait 9+ months for the sequel and it’s highly unlikely that we’ll remember everything from the previous book. Also, authors just love their cliff-hangers.

8. Book hangovers/reading slumps- Everyone knows how these feel. Although, I believe in you! Stay strong, you will make it through this!

9. Late nights- I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stayed up way later then I should reading a book. The next morning I’m always incapable of functioning, and it’s such a pain. We’ll tell ourselves, “One more chapter!” but that never seems to work out very well.

10. Spoiler alert- Dear other person, If we are reading a book do not come up to us and ask us “Oh my god! Have you gotten to the part where blah blah?” It is highly probable that we haven’t and you’ve just spoiled the entire book/series for us. Please, we beg of you. Sincerely, all book lovers ever.

There you have it! Some of the biggest challenges about being a book lover! Did I miss any? Do you understand the pain of these? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to know and discuss.

-Kenzie c:

3 thoughts on “Bookish Struggles | Mini-Discussion #3

Leave a Reply

