A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

image

Blurb: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

Thoughts: I don’t even know how to function right now. Sarah J. Maas is one of my favorite authors and she did not let me down with the start of her new series.

Maas wrote a beautifully complex fairy-tale retelling of Beauty & the Beast, it has compelling and unique characters with an intriguing plotline that has plenty of unpredictable twists.

Feyre was such a fun protagonist, we saw her go from riches to rags back to riches and see her struggle to adapt. I loves watching her relationships with Lucien and Tamlin grow and she spent more time in the palace.

Lucien and Tamlin were also great characters. Being thrown into the High Fae world was confusing at first, but you slowly adapt like Feyre does. Lucien’s snarky lines were a great comedic break and he has such an interesting history to him.
Now. Tamlin. Tamlin. Oh my god, my heart. He’s a fabulous love interest and that twist at the end made his actions even more heart tugging. I don’t really know how else to say this, but this is a hot book. Tamlin and Feyre have a true, slow-burning romance that creates some heart pounding scenes.

Throughout the novel, Feyre is put in some pretty difficult situations and I could feel myself struggling to make a decision along with her. Yes, she doesn’t always make the smartest choices but it will be interesting to see the consequences of those in the next book.

Before I get into the totally spoil-y section, let me just say that that I stayed up until 1 AM reading this book, and if that doesn’t tell you how good it is, I don’t know what will.

Spoiler Discussion: HOLY CRAP! Everything about this was intense. Feyre killing Andras, Lucien and Tamlin, all of the freaky creatures like the Bogge, the naga and Attor.

I need to talk about the ending, so if you have not read this book, I beg of you, stop reading this right now because you don’t want to spoiled.

First of all, Feyre why would accept that deal with Rhysand? Why? Although, I have to admit, I hated Rhys when we first got to know him, but he did grow on me. His actions weren’t as romantic and obvious as Tamlin, but he does care for Feyre and I can’t wait to watch their relationship grow.

I can not believe those challenges that Amarantha set for her. The way that she killed the worm was so bad ass, so you go girl. I think the second challenge was definitely the worse, did Amarantha know Feyre couldn’t read? Did Rhys tell her? It was so painful to read and to see Lucien cry out to her.

Having the answer to the riddle be love was cruel. All Feyre had to do was say I love you, and it kind of came back to bite her in the ass. However, now that Amarantha is dead I’m curious about who the antagonist will be in the next book.

“You look… better then before.”
Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.
“And your hair… is clean.”

Aww, now I know why he was so awkward at first! That tugs at the heart strings a bit.
So basically, I loved this book and want more of this amazing world and cast of characters. I definitely recommend it for a good high fantasy novel.

image

Leave a Reply

