To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Book Review

to all the boys I've loved beforeBlurb: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Thoughts: I’m still not entirely sure of how I felt about this book. At times, I loved it and all of the quirky adorable moments and at others, I didn’t like it. The novel deals with sibling relationship just as much as it deals with Lara Jean’s romantic relationships, perhaps even more. While most of the interactions between all of the Song girls felt true and how siblings do act, some of it felt ridiculous, but I’ll get into more of that later.

My biggest issue with this novel was probably the characters. While Lara Jean, her family and Chris were all fun characters I really didn’t like Peter. I’m definitely 100% team Josh for this love triangle. Josh is sweet and caring and he actually cares for Lara Jean for who she is and Josh is someone Lara Jean can be herself around, unlike Peter. When Josh says that Peter isn’t good enough for her, he’s right.

Don’t get me wrong, the Peter and Lara Jean scenes were cute and it was fun seeing them actually grow to care for each other from their “pretend” relationship, but Peter’s character felt too perfect at times and I felt as if I could never fully trust his words/actions.

Back to the sisters, Margot and Kitty were quite the characters. Kitty was probably my favorite character just because I loved her young innocent happiness. Now, when people leave somewhere for a certain amount of time, they change and that’s to be expected. Lara Jean and Kitty changed when Margot left, and while Margot changed it also seemed like she didn’t. While she was away, Lara Jean was constantly saying how she’s changed so much, but when Margot came back for the holidays, she was the same person from when she left, which was slightly disappointing.

However, I loved the story that this book provided. Reading the blurb, I could only imagine how terrible I would feel if those were my letters and the author did a great job of having Lara Jean try to fix the problem. Overall the book was cute and fluffy, but it wasn’t my favorite contemporary read.

3/5
3/5
3 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Book Review

Leave a Reply

