Reading Habits | Book Tag

Book tagI was tagged from Nicola from The Book Bunny to do the reading habits book tag! Thank you for the nomination Nicola, this looks like such a fun tag and a great way to get back into the blogoshpere. So, let’s get into the questions!

Do you have certain places at home for reading?

Yes and no, I love to just sit at home and read but I end up reading pretty much everywhere in my room. I can’t read anywhere else in the house because my family tends to interrupt me when I do.

Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

I wish I could be a person who can say that I always use an actual bookmark, but I’m not. I tend to obtain them but lose them super quickly! So, it’s a random piece of paper (typically torn off my homework) 70% of the time, a bookmark 20% and a random receipt the other 10% of the time.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

Funnily enough, I can just stop reading. Typically, I like to finish the paragraph but I’m totally cool with stopping in the middle of a chapter if I have to or if I’m too tired to finish the chapter. I don’t like to, but I can!

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I do! Especially drink, I usually end up with some water or tea with a straw so I can read and drink at the same time. Yes, I drink hot tea with a straw! Sometimes I’ll have little snack foods but I don’t typically eat unless I’m reading on my nook because then I don’t have to worry about getting stains on that.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Definitely no TV, but I do occasionally listen to music. No words though, I play either classical music (such a oboe concertos, Pictures at an Exhibitions, Holst’s Planets suite, ect.) or movie scores (I really love the Book Thief score and the Harry Potter scores!)

One book at a time or several at once?

It depends, I usually have my physical book that I want to read, a nook book so I can read on my phone/nook if I forget my book and I will typically have a book for school that I’m also reading. So I guess I tend to read usually one book at a time but it can get up to three.

Reading at home or everywhere?

While I prefer to read at home, I’m always reading. I read at school a ton and on the bus (since I can’t drive and don’t have a burning desire to learn how to drive). Next school year I’m going to end up reading on the bus a good bit since I’m doing part time high school and part time college and have to bus to the college every day.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently in my head. I’m actually super curious if people read every book the read out loud because that’s quite impressive and I wouldn’t be able to do that.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I only ever skip pages if I think I’m going to DNF a book and I’m seeing if something will catch my interest or if I’m rereading something. Other then that, I never skip, that would ruin the surprise!

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I love keeping them new because it looks so nice and pretty, but sometimes breaking the spine is inevitable, especially if it’s something I’ve read a million times. My poor copy of the Lightning Thief isΒ very well loved.

Do you write in your books?

Nope! I hate writing in books and I never ever do. Unless it’s my nook where I can “highlight”, but that’s different. Writing in books bugs me so much, in my textbooks I will legit erase things people have written the margins, even if the textbook is around 60 years old.

This was such a fun tag! So thank you again for tagging me Nicola and make sure to pop by her blog and say hi!

So where have I been?

This past week, I was out of town for a leadership building conference hosted through the Unitarian Universalist church district that I attend. I had 18+ hour days and no access to my computer, let alone books so that’s why my blog has been pretty quiet. This was one of the most amazing and intense weeks of my life, but my reviews, tags, ect. will be coming back in full swing as I’m approaching my 1 year blogoversary soon!

10 thoughts on “Reading Habits | Book Tag

  1. Every time I see this tag, people say they must stop at the end of chapter or something. I’m with you! I can just completely stop when I need to. Sometimes I don’t like it, but it happens a lot when others need me! I actualy got my copy of the Lightning Thief at a resell bookstore, and it’s so worn, but it makes me happy that people loved it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually listen to music while reading but I’ve never thought of listening to scores! That’s a nice idea πŸ™‚ I stop in the middle too because otherwise I’d have to force myself to finish the chapter and that wouldn’t be goodβ€”reading is about enjoying it πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

