Month In Review | July 2015

Monthly wrap upI feel like my brain refuses to believe that July is over and it’s almost August. This year is going by super quickly and I can’t believe that in a month I’ll already be back in school! July was a good moth for me though and I’m excited for the new month to begin.

BOOKS

This month I read a total of 10 books, although 4 are re-reads and 3 were graphic novels/manga. What are the re-reads? I’m currently re-reading the Harry Potter series as it’s been a very long time since I’ve done that and I recently made a post about the beginning of my re-reading journey which you can read here.

Books I read this month…

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Review
  • Velvet by Temple West | Review
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo | Review
  • Infernal Devices Manga by Cassandra Clare and HyeKyung Baek | Review
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Yes, I did skip Goblet of Fire because that’s my favorite and I actually just re-read it not too long ago, so I didn’t want to bore myself and read it once again!

I had a nice reading month although I’m still a whopping 6 books behind on my Goodreads challenge and I’m almost half way done with my challenge of 70 books this year! I’m currently sitting at 34 books read, but I’m flying through Half Blood Prince so hopefully I’ll hit that half way mark soon. I hope I’m able to complete my challenge this year…

TBR JAR?

Ahh… The TBR Jar. This died pretty quickly. I think I managed to complete the challenge for the first few months but then in the proceeding months I didn’t read the book selected and now I’ve stopped drawing a title. I’ve discovered that I’m a pretty heavy mood reader and don’t like having a set list of books to read because then I feel confined when I have tons of others books I could be reading.

I’m going to leave the jar on my shelf and draw from it whenever I’m really stuck on what to read next, so it won’t be sitting somewhere forgotten about!

BLOGGING

This was a good month for blogging too! I got back into the swing of things after what I’m calling my “I’m free from school” slump and I’m so glad I did. This month I reached the highest amount of views my blog has ever gotten (you guys rock!) and that’s just in time for my one year anniversary which is coming up in a few days. So, I just wanted to say a super quick thank you. πŸ™‚

WRAP UP

So, overall July was a really good month and I’m hoping that I can spend some serious time trying to catch up on my reading goal next month before school starts in September. I hope you guys had a fantastic month and that the next one will be even better.

-McKenzie

12 thoughts on “Month In Review | July 2015

Leave a Reply

