A Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor | Book Review

daughter of smoke and bone

She imagined she could practically see their butterflies- Papilio Stomachus- dancing the sweet tango of new love.”


Where do I even begin? I absolutely loved this book and it was so refreshing being back in a high fantasy world that truly amazes me. I honestly can’t believe I put off reading this series for so long because this first installment blew me away.

First of all, the writing style was utterly beautiful and I was captivated right away by the world building, characters and the setting. It starts out as just Karou, this quirky art student with blue hair who has a super intense imagination and I was reading the first few chapters and I was enjoying them immensely, then Karou goes to the shop where, low and behold, her drawings are real! This was the first time in the book where I was like “woah, what? This is cool!”

She had been innocent once, a little girl playing with feathers on the floor of a devil’s lair.

In most YA fantasy series there’s a normal teenager who knows absolutely nothing about this secret hidden world and is thrust into the action, but in this series Karou has been living in the world her entire life. Obviously, there’s still so much that she doesn’t know but I truly appreciate having the main character be well informed and keeping the reader guessing.

Let’s talk about Karou. I freaking love this girl. Karou is such an interesting lead because there’s times when Karou knows something that the readers don’t know, but there’s other times when the readers know something that Karou doesn’t know and that helps keeps up the anticipation. But seriously, this girl is awesome because she’s hilarious, a great friend, totally kickass and she’s quirky. I love how quirky she is because it’s refreshing to see a different type of protagonist in the YA genre. Also, Zuzana is now my spirit animal. Favorite new secondary-ish character!

Then when have this beautiful creature that is Akiva. I was so intrigued about why Akiva and Karou were so drawn to each other and Laini did such a wonderful job of wrapping that up and telling us not who Karou is, but what. The dual perspectives between Karou and Akiva also helped me understand both characters equally because without Akiva’s perspective he kind rubs off as some kind of psycho crazy, angel stalker. But he’s not, he’s this amazing, beautiful, and complex character that’s very swoon-worthy.

It was like stepping into the pages of a book- a book alive with color and fragrance, filth and chaos- and the blue-haired girl moved through it all like a fairy through a story, the light treating her differently than it did others, the air seeming to gather around her like held breath.

You really want to go into this book not knowing much because that makes the experience so so much better. So, if you have yet to pick up ADoSaB and it sounds like something you would like, I high encourage it! Laini has an insane imagination (much like Karou!) and she forms her ideas so elegantly, which lets the story flow. I loved every aspect of this book, the writing the characters, the plot, the setting, the romance, the twists, ect. I could go on forever about how I freaking devoured it, but I’ll just leave you with this.

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.

Rating-

4 thoughts on “A Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor | Book Review

Leave a Reply

