The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas | Book Talk

assassin's blade

“My name is Celaena Sardothien,” she whispered, “and I will not be afraid.”


Welcome to Book Talk! I’ve decided to have a little chat about the book rather than a review because my emotions are all over the place with this (mostly it’s me wanting to cry) and you’ll probably see one of these for Queen of Shadows too. Thanks Sarah J. Maas.

Let me just start out by saying, TEAM SAM! Sorry Chaol, Dorian, Rowan and Aedion (Celaena is popular!), but Sam has taken over my heart and there’s that stubborn part of me where I don’t want to admit he’s actually dead. My guess is he’s going to come back in Queen of Shadows and that body Celaena saw was a trick by Arobynn and Farran. There’s going to be a magical reunion where Celaena is going to threaten to kill him for leaving her then kiss him. Do you hear me Sarah?

“You’re a damned idiot,” she breathed. “You’re a moron and an ass and a damned idiot.” He looked like she had hit him. But she went on, and grasped both sides of his face, “Because I’d pick you.”

And then she kissed him.

It’s been so long since I’ve read a ToG book and getting back into the world was so amazing. Reading these novellas has me even more pumped for the release of Queen of Shadows. I also forgotten how Celaena is my favorite character ever. I feel like I can relate to her on such a level and then she’s also everything I wish I could do. Celaena and I share such a love for music and that makes her seem more tangible to me. Maas perfectly captured the way music can mean to some people and I truly appreciate when there’s a mutual agreement on something like this.

With each beat of the drum, each trill of the flute and blare of the horn, she felt all of it along her skin, along her bones. The music broke her apart and put her back together, only to rend her asunder again and again.

Then there’s the part of me that wishes I could be as kickass as Celaena, but I don’t particularly want to spend my entire life under the rule of someone like Arobynn or spend a month training in a desert, so I’ll leave the assassin duties to her.

Each novella gets better and better than the last (obviously because of more Sam) but I think my favorite out of the five is The Assassin and the Desert. I loved seeing Celaena have to adapt to a completely new lifestyle and the different teaching techniques that the Mute Master uses. She goes through a lot of personal growth in this story and it’s nice to know that Celaena still has a friend (sort of) out there somewhere. I hope we get to see Ansel in QoS, it would make sense since she’s fighting against the witches and they make an appearance in HoF.

Maas has such a wonderful writing style and I flew through each novella while taking a small break in between each of them. I loved how they truly make a whole book with an over arching plotline because some other novellas I’ve read are just individual stories and don’t really connect together. I honestly just love seeing Celaena before Endovier and how she actually got there because we knew about her time in Endovier and how she escaped but not much before that. She goes through so much development, from losing allies (Arobynn, Ansel, basically the entire Assassin’s Guild) and gaining new ones (Sam, the Mute Master and his son) to her character development. She becomes more aware of how she effects other people and becomes a little less snotty compared to the first novella.

Okay, now let’s talk about everyone’s favorite new male interest, Sam. I love him so much and he definitely didn’t deserve what he got (unlessssss (see above)). He’s so compassionate and brings out such happiness in Celaena. It’s so nice to see someone care so deeply for Celaena because she needs someone like that in her life, whether she wants to admit it or not. Plus, Same certainly has a way of creating the most swoon worthy moments.

And suddenly, as the memory of the day echoed through her, she remembered the words Sam kept screaming at Arobynn as the King of the Assassins beat her, the words that she somehow had forgotten in the fog of pain: I’ll kill you!

Sam had said it like he meant it. He’d bellowed it. Again and again and again.

I just really want him to not be dead, okay?

So, if love the Throne of Glass series definitely pick these up because they’re fantastic and help a lot with the waiting for Queen of Shadows. These novellas reveal so many hidden little anecdotes that I probably missed when I read the first three books in the series and now I’m tempted to go back and reread them, just to pick up on hidden references.

Seriously, go read them and then we can cry together.

He brushed his lips against hers. “I love you,” he breathed against her mouth. “And from today onward, I want to never be separated from you. Wherever you go, I go. Even that means going to Hell itself, wherever you are, that’s where I want to be. Forever.”

Nope. Nope. Nopity nope nope.

Rating-

12 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas | Book Talk

  1. The Assassin and the Desert was one of my favourite novellas too πŸ™‚ I’m going to go against you here and say – I never felt that connected to Sam! (Don’t shoot me) I guess maybe because by that stage I was already shipping Celaena and Chaol hardcore, and I knew what was going to happen to Sam but yeah… I didn’t get very emotional over him. I know that sounds pretty heartless haha! I am so, so, so excited for Queen of Shadows!!! YAY!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s understandable. If I read these right after I read Throne of Glass or Crown of Midnight I’d probably be like, “who is the Sam guy? Chaol 5ever.” but with Heir of Fire and me being confused on who I like better (right now it’s neither!) Sam was a nice interlude. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just finished rereading Heir of Fire and I’m team Chaol till the end but I couldn’t help shipping Celaena and Rowan, they are so perfect!!! Ahh all my feels about them are on the surface!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read all the novellas that were out before Throne of Glass before I read ToG and it was so hard for my to jump from the Sam bandwagon to the Chaol/Dorian ships. Sam will always be my pick for C anytime you ask me…I thought he was just perfect for her ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

