The Bookshelf Tag | Book Tag

 

the bookshelfUnfortunately, I have zero inspiration for today’s TTT so I figured I’d try to do a tag and it just so happened that Kat from Life and other Disasters is in the exact some boat as me! She tagged me to do the bookshelf tag and it seemed like so much fun (although it did require me to get out of bed) so thank you, Kat! PS. I did skip I few to shorten this, so always take a look at Kat’s answers!

DESCRIBE YOUR BOOKSHELF AND WHERE YOU GOT IT FROM…

IMG_20150929_161829

My bookshelf is actually from Home Deopt because I needed shelves that didn’t touch the ground as my heating vent is on the wall and that can’t be covered. Here you can see my main shelves in all of it’s glory. The top shelves are all of my childhood books and manga. I also have started a second shelf that is an actual (sort of) bookcase, but it currently has 11 books on it and is full of other junk, so I won’t picture that yet!

DO YOU HAVE ANY SPECIAL OR DIFFERENT WAY OF ORGANIZING YOUR BOOKS?

Eh… sort of? Summer 2014 I reorganized my bookshelves but I didn’t have nearly as many books then so things have gotten a little crazier. The very bottom shelf is nonfiction, realistic fiction, fiction, romance (although I have some in other spots) and then contemporary to finish it off. The second shelf starts my fantasy series and any fantasy/fiction stand alones I didn’t have room for elsewhere. The third and fourth shelves are my babies (my favorites mostly) so it’s more of my fantasy series.

WHAT’S THE THICKEST BOOK (MOST AMOUNT OF PAGES) ON YOUR BOOKSHELF?

IMG_20150929_162051That honor goes to The Way of the Kings by Brandon Sanderson at exactly 1001 pages. I got this a while ago because it was so huge and it sounds awesome. I think I’m going to try to read it over my Christmas break this year.

WHAT’S THE THINNEST BOOK (LEAST AMOUNT OF PAGES) ON YOUR SHELF?

Gossamer by Luis Lowery at 154 pages. I have no idea what this is about because I think I read it as a kid and it’s still on my shelf, haha.

IS THERE A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED AS A BIRTHDAY GIFT?

While I love reading and such, it’s not actually common knowledge among my friends just because when I’m with them I don’t have time to read. My family obviously knows but they just buy me Barnes and Noble gift cards instead because they never know what I have or don’t have. My mom did get me To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before as a end of the school year present last year though. (Shout out to mom!)

WHAT’S THE SMALLEST (HEIGHT AND WIDTH WISE) BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

IMG_20150929_162231Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. I got the mass market paper back edition for a school project and while I loved the book and it was a great book for essays and such, it’s ridiculously short (height wise).

WHAT’S THE BIGGEST (HEIGHT AND WIDTH WISE) BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

IMG_20150929_162216My Harry Potter Page to Screen collection. I have no idea where I got this (I think I stole it from my mom) but it’s HUGE! I love it to death and it’s so cool to see all of the behind the scene things and what brought the magic to life.

IS THERE A BOOK FROM A FRIEND ON YOUR SHELF?

I don’t think so. As I mentioned above, my friends don’t really buy me books.

MOST EXPENSIVE BOOK?

It’s probably the HP Page to Screen collection, but I don’t know how much that cost so I’m going to go with I’ll give You the Sun. I bought this from a local bookstore in Leavenworth (WA) and I don’t know why but it was expensive for a normal book.

THE LAST BOOK YOU READ ON YOUR SHELF?

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on my Nook lately, but the last physical book was An Ember in the Ashes (which is on my other shelf) and you can find my review here.

OF ALL THE BOOKS ON YOUR SHELF, WHICH WAS THE FIRST YOU READ?

I have no idea, but it was probably one of my Andrew Clements books like No Talking. I loved those as a kid!

DO YOU HAVE MORE THAN ONE COPY OF A BOOK?

I actually don’t! Unless you count having Clockwork Angel on my phone and Clockwork Prince/Princess on my Nook. I recently got them all in paperback so, that sort of counts.

DO YOU HAVE THE COMPLETE SERIES OF A BOOK SERIES?

Oh so many. Let’s see if I can actually list them all shall we? (This will only be completely published series, not ongoing).

Anna and the French Kiss companion novels, Leviathan series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Heroes of Olympus, The Darkest Minds series, Harry Potter, The Eona duology, The Mara Dyer trilogy, Shatter Me series, The Infernal Devices, The Grisha trilogy, Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, The Selection series, Seraphina series, Hunger Games, Mortal Instruments, If I Stay series, Warriors series and Warriors: The New Prophecy.

18 completed series, oh my gosh.

WHAT’S THE NEWEST EDITION TO YOUR BOOKSHELF?

IMG_20150929_162203Seraphina and Shadowscale by Rachel Hartman and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir!

A BOOK YOU’D NEVER LET OUT OF YOUR SIGHT?

Probably my TID series, not going to lie. Once Lady Midnight comes out, that baby isn’t going anywhere that isn’t with me.

MOST BEAT UP BOOK?

You can't really tell (good job me) but the spine is broken in several places and the pages are a little yellowed. :(
You can’t really tell (good job me) but the spine is broken in several places and the pages are a little yellowed. 😦

My poor, poor copy of The Lightning Thief. Just look at the poor thing. I’m never going to get a new copy though because I love this old beat up copy!

A BOOK FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD?

I have a lot books from my childhood but my favorite is probably The Phantom Tollbooth.

A BOOK THAT’S YOUR FAVORITE COLOR?

IMG_20150929_162142Any book that is blue, it doesn’t matter the shade, but I love the blue on Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

ANY SIGNED BOOKS?

I don’t have many signed books just because I’ve never really met any authors. I have met Stephanie Perkins, but I forgot to bring my book. Rookie mistake, I know.

My copy of Cinder is actually signed (not personalized) and I didn’t realize it until I reread it a while back! I think I got Cinder as a gift and they picked up a signed copy at a bookstore.


I tag…

Yvo @ It’s All About Books

Paige @ Page by Paige

Rebeca @ Books and Messy Buns

Sydney @ Books and Stuff

3 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tag | Book Tag

  1. Glad I could help out! πŸ™‚
    I was just so uninspired for TTT and this way I still had something to post.
    I like your bookshelf. I think it’s cool that it doesn’t have a back and that you can see the wall. My wall in the back is a light green and sometimes I would want it to show through.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

