Paper Towns by John Green | Book Review

paper towns

That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfast cereals based on color instead of taste.


I have very strong feelings about John Green. I read TFIOS maybe a few years back now, and while I enjoyed it, it wasn’t my favorite thing. Then I decided to pick up Looking for Alaska, but I absolutely hated it. I didn’t even finish it, I was close to the end but I was frustrated and upset that I gave up. I was hoping that Paper Towns would redeem John Green for me, but unfortunately, it didn’t.

tumblr_lw2saw4ucs1r3ovdbo1_400

This is basically how I felt the entire book. The premise interested me and I’ve been wanting to watch the movie, so I wanted to finish the book. At first, I was immediately hooked, I loved Margo and Q’s excursion, but once Margo left things went way downhill.

First of all, I really despised Margo as a character. She was manipulative, rude, arrogant, and completely self-centered. She reminded a lot of Alaska, whom I also despised. I couldn’t stand the way that she left, without telling anyone because whether she wanted to believe it or not, people did care for her! Plus, she left all of those obscure clues for Q and then expected him not to come looking for her? *screams*

Besides freaking Margo Roth Spiegelman (if I have to see that damn name one more time…) I really liked all of the other characters! I found Q a very relatable character before he went totally obsessive and Radar, Ben and Lacey were all great editions to the overall story. Ben did sometimes threaten to drive me crazy with his over confidence and calling girls “honeybunnies”, but it didn’t bother me too much.

The story really started to deteriorate in the second and third parts because Q had literally NO personality left. Everything he did was for Margo and only for Margo. He abandoned his friends constantly and then got mad at them when they pointed out what a jerk he was being (*screams again*). I’m sorry, but this girl just doesn’t deserve it. She definitely wasn’t a good reason for Q to skip not only prom butΒ graduation.

I’m sorry for this rant of a review, but this book really unsettled me, and while I understand that it’s a great coming of age story, it honestly didn’t make much sense to me. However, if you do enjoy great characters and a fun quick plot/story, I would still recommend picking this one up if you haven’t already!

2

3 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green | Book Review

  1. I really enjoyed Paper Town, I think it was mainly because of Margo’s attitude about life and how everyone wants to marry and have children in this endless cycle, and she just wanted to be different. It really opened my eyes! But I have to agree the ending was such a let down I really wish Margo acted differently! I loved how opinionated your review was and I really enjoyed reading your review! -A xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

