Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

scarlet

A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”

“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.”


Wow, this book was so great, and a definite improvement on Cinder. As much as I enjoyed the first book in the series, I liked this one better because of how the two stories intertwined and the overall complexity of everything. It made the pace much faster, especially half way through.

Let’s talk about our new characters, Scarlet, Wolf, and Thorne. I absolutely adored Thorne, he was so funny and seeing how him and Cinder’s relationship grew was just adorkable. I think it’s nice to have such a strong friendship bond in this series because friendships are always fantastic, but they often get played down in YA by the romance. Speaking of romance, let’s talk about Scarlet and Wolf. Individually, I liked each of their characters, but for separate reason. Scarlet is a brave, fierce, and brash heroine, quite different from Cinder. I loved Scarlet’s POVs because they were always packed with action.

Now, I liked Wolf because he is such a complex and mysterious character. I don’t want to go too much into his character because that will spoil it (however, he’s a cutie confused by tomatoes and can openers. It’s okay Wolf, I’m confused by can openers too), but I definitely don’t fully trust him. The romance between Wolf and Scarlet is very fast (Scarlet even points it out herself!) and passionate, which isn’t my preferred romance arc. I’m hoping for a Kai and Cinder reunion in Cress because I need that in my life.

Scarlet is told from many different perspectives, and I enjoyed each and every one of them. There was never a time when I didn’t want to read from one character’s perspective, but Meyer always switched right at the climax so I’d be eager to read from all of them. When we got that one Levana chapter, I was so surprised!shockedThe Lunar Chronicles are such cool retellings of the fairy tales, and I love picking up on little hints of the fairy tales in the story, like Scarlet’s red jacket or all of the wolves (well, duh). I can’t wait to read Cress and Winter and see how the final two stories come together with the previous ones, yet still keep their fairy tale intact.

Overall, I highly enjoyed the second book in the series, and the only reason it’s getting 4 stars and not 5 is because I had a lot of issues getting into the story. Don’t get me wrong, it’s very fast paced, I just didn’t feel invested until around half way through.

4(1)

 

7 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

  1. I rated this the same when I read it 🙂 I wrote a spoiler free review of the next book – Cress- on my blog and to sum it up, this series just gets better! I really need to get the novella and the 4th book soon! Great review by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you (about my review)! I was planning on getting Winter for Christmas, but I want to read Fairest first because apparently that’s when you should read the novella, but now I’ll have to wait until after christmas for both… Typical haha xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

