Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

six of crows

“No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.”

Blurb- Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Review- This book was honestly what I needed to get out of my weird “back to school reading slump” because let me tell you, it was fantastic. I absolutely adore the Grishaverse and Six of Crows certainly has a lot of hype surrounding it, but I believe it’s so worth it.

As we’re tossed back into this world, I remembered why I love it so much. Bardugo built this stunning world and she did it right. There’s very little info dumping and the world and social class of Grisha is built so smoothly and beautifully. Bardugo’s writing style truly immerses you into the world and once you’re in, it’s hard to leave.

One of the main aspects that I loved about this novel was the amazing set of characters. When you’ve got your six person squad, it can be difficult to truly give them a voice and make each of them likable, but I honestly can’t pick a favorite (although it’s probably between Kaz, Inej and Wylan) because they’re so amazing. Let’s discuss our crew…

  • Kaz- Probably one of my new favorite characters of all time. I honestly love Kaz so much because he truly is a mystery that’s nearly impossible to understand. Yet, even with all of his mysteries Kaz does show tenderness, loss, and happiness. I freaking love his backstory! It’s so dark and it adds so much to his own backstory and why he acts like he does now. My heart broke reading about Jordie.
  • Inej- She’s such a wonderful and amazing character and is someone you definitely don’t want to piss off. Inej’s chapters were some of my favorite to read because her relationship with Kaz is so wonderfully complex, plus her backstory is also heart breaking to discover. The Wraith is a beautifully badass character and all I want in life are her chapters in the next book.
  • Jesper- I LOVE JESPER. He’s a hilarious character and he also has many hidden talents that are revealed throughout the book (that left me shocked!). His little side comments and jokes gave the book a much needed break sometimes and he had such a great character arc, especially with Wylan. Who he is so in love with.
  • Nina- Yet another character with a fantastic backstory that I couldn’t get enough of. Nina grows so much as a person, Grisha, and friend in this book but I just know that she’s going to break my heart in the next book. Nina and Matthias have great chemistry and watching their relationship go through the various levels of reconciling was intense.
  • Wylan- LITTLE BABY WYLAN. He honestly was one of my favorite things about Six of Crows because he was so different from the rest of the crew. Kaz put together this amazing crew and Wylan definitely was the lost puppy, but he totally stood up for himself and I loved seeing him grow into his new position in the Dregs. I really hope that he gets a point of view in Crooked Kingdom because I need to know more about the backstory of our little flute player. (Also can his flute skill please come into play in the next one?)
  • Matthias- I’m sorry to say, but out of all the crew members Matthias was my least favorite. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed his character because he was a good addition to the crew and his heritage of Fjerdans was super interesting. However, Matthias was the one person I never fully trusted just because he seemed so shifty and Bardugo really played into that aspect, which is why he’s still a great character.

Overall, Six of Crows is instantly one of my favorite books of all time. I definitely enjoyed this more than The Grisha Trilogy because the world felt more comfortable and it explored more aspects than just the Grisha in Ravka. Even if you haven’t read The Grisha Trilogy, I highly recommend this book, especially if you love fantasy!

Rating-

7 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

Leave a Reply

