Stars Above by Marissa Meyer | Mini-Reviews

stars aboveStars Above is the newest installment in the Lunar Chronicles series, and probably the last. It includes 9 novellas that span from pre-Lunar Chronicle events to post-Winter events. If you love the LC series (like myself) I definitely recommend picking this one up because I really enjoyed almost all the stories.

Instead of trying to review the entire book and having it be a mess, I’ve decided to write mini-reviews for each story and give each one a rating! Overall, I loved this and it’s so nice to have more in the LC world because it’s a fantastic world!

The Keeper-★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Out of all the stories, this was probably one of my favorites. This story is about Scarlet’s childhood and Michelle Benoit’s backstory of his mission on Lunar, and having Cinder come into her care after the fire. It shed a lot of light on what happened in the past and it made me care for Scarlet a bit more. It also has the history of Cinder’s name, which was so cute!

Glitches- ★ ★ ★

This was a good novella, but I truly dislike Adri and Pearl and this one focuses on Cinder coming into their household and Linh Garan dying from the plague. However, I loved reading about the beginning of Cinder and Iko’s friendship and more into Cinder and Peony’s sweet relationship.

The Queen’s Army-★ ★ ★ ★

If you’ve ever been curious about Wolf’s past, this is the novella for you. It explores him being drafted into the Queen’s Army as a young boy, getting the alterations, training and fighting, and eventually becoming the Alpha. I actually teared up during this one, the writing was so raw and emotional, and even though I don’t really like Wolf I loved this novella about his past.

Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky-★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I have two words for you, BABY THORNE. I mean, he’s 12 or 13 or somewhere around there but it’s the cutest story. This was definitely one of my favorites because I love Thorne to death and it’s so cute reading about his need to become a captain when he’s older, especially how he wants a Rampion to fly.

After Sunshine Passes By-★ ★ ★ ★

This one is about nine year old Cress and how she ended up on her lone satellite to spy for the Queen. I really enjoyed this one just because I can relate to Cress so much as a character and she’ll always be one of my favorites, so when there’s a story about baby Cress, I’m going to love it. It was also super cool seeing more about the Shell history on Lunar.

The Princess and the Guard-★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This novella focuses on Winter and Jacin growing up, and I definitely cried during this one. It really goes to show how strong of a character Winter truly is because she was extremely adapt with her gift, but when she realizes the effect her gift has on others she makes the choice herself to stop using it and fight the Lunar sickness. It’s so touching and her relationship with Jacin is actually so cute. Also, the horrifying event of Winter getting her scars from Levanna is in this novella, which made me tear up like crazy.

The Little Android-★ ★ ★

A retelling of The Little Mermaid in the Lunar Chronicles world is cute, but I just didn’t enjoy this one as much as some of the other novellas. This was well written and I loved all the little hints to the original story, but I just wasn’t too connected to the characters. Although, I loved how Meyer decided to make the story about a human and an android, I’m sure Iko would love this!

The Mechanic-★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Cinder and Kai’s first meeting from his point of view has freaking adorable. I normally think point of view switches are kind of a cheap shot, but this was way too cute not to love. He tried so hard to impress her and be cute and it was just such a cute little story. Kai is such a sweet character and this made me fall in love with him even more.

Something Old, Something New-★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was by far the best story in the novella because it’s a wedding between two of our main characters. I won’t say who but I’ll just tell you it’s a wonderfully cute story and it goes to show how much the Rampion crew all cares for each other. Plus, there’s a proposal at the end that you don’t want to miss!

5 thoughts on “Stars Above by Marissa Meyer | Mini-Reviews

Leave a Reply

