City of Bones by Cassandra Clare | Reread Review/Book Talk

city of bones

“The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

Blurb (Goodreads)-When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Thoughts- There’s a funny phenomenon when you reread a book for the first time, especially when it’s a series you know you love but can’t remember why. You either fall in love with it all over again or it strikes you as, well… not good. Luckily, this has only reignited my love for the Shadowhunter world.

I decided to reread the entire Mortal Instruments series (or at least part of it) in preparation of the release of Lady Midnight in a few weeks! Let me just tell you, I’m so glad I did because I forgot how much I love this.

First of all, let’s talk about Jace. The lovely amazing character that is Jace (last name omitted because it’s too complicated). From the movie to the TV show I think I’d forgotten what Jace is actually like as a character and how much I love him! He’s wonderfully sarcastic, compassionate, and yet a little dumb at times. He’s such a complex character  and I do truly like him and Clary together because they fit. All of the book characters feel so real and like actual humans since they have distinct personalities which builds a nice start to the series.

One thing I love about the first novel in this series is that Clary is a terrible Shadowhunter, like actually absolutely horrible and it’s hilarious. Clary is thrust into this new world all of the sudden and while she semi-adapts it still makes sense that she isn’t a good fighter, or doesn’t feel confident in Izzy’s clothes and I love that. The Lightwood b-team is once again some of my favorite characters, and especially favorite siblings. Izzy is so badass and I can’t wait to get more into her story again, and I appreciate how Alec isn’t a likable character at first since it gives him depth and time to grow by the 6th novel.

City of Bones also had such a nice pacing! I never felt bored with it and I zoomed through the whole book in a little over a day. The action scenes are fun to read, yet the sweet calm moments (like the greenhouse!) are still interesting and aren’t boring to read.

The thing that did annoy me the most in this book was the ending. It made me so mad the first time I read it and it made me just as upset the second time around, even though I know what’s going to happen. The switch from romantic interests to “siblings” bothers me so much because it’s such a touchy topic and Jace’s personality switch never seems genuine to me. I still have a theory that Valentine brainwashed him somehow…

I’m excited to read more from the series and fully grasp the awesomeness that is the Mortal Instruments series in book form! On the note of Shadowhunters though, who else is excited as I am for Lady Midnight?! I am so excited to read a new Shadowhunter novel and I think it’ll be fantastic.

6 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare | Reread Review/Book Talk

Leave a Reply

