Why There Should be More Music in Books | Tea Time Talk

tea time talk

As some of you may know (or probably not, but not important), I am a huge music/band geek. Yeah, I’m the kid in high school who you don’t really see anywhere other than the band room at my school. If you add up all of the hours that I’ve spent in the band room/stage it would be something around 2-3 consecutive weeks, all 24 hours. (PS If you’re curious, I play the oboe, piccolo, and english horn when I need to).

Basically practicing and playing music is such a huge part of my life, so it always makes me extremely happy when I read something that has music as a prominent feature because it combines the two most important aspects of my life, music and reading. Everyone in their own way can relate to music, whether that’s classical or punk rock. So why aren’t there more books focused around this amazing thing?

Music has the power to conveyΒ  emotions that words can not, and I think that’s the most wonderful thing ever. There’s a reason there’s several hour long ballads, 30 or so movement pieces. It’s because they can tell a story that no other aspect of life can tell. Obviously words can create the same story, but in way they can never create the raw emotional power that music can. When Igor Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring was first performed in Paris on May 29th, 1913 the sheer nature and explosion of emotion caused a riot in the audience. Today, musicians commonly call his piece Riot of Spring for this very reason.

ed
Ed Sheeran gets it.

Music is connected to our lives whether we know it or not. I don’t know about you, but I still cry every time I hear Courtyard Apocalypse or Lily’s Theme from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. Everything about the scene and the music is so powerful and can touch someone in an inexplicable way. It’s so funny what a simple crescendo or minor 3rd cord can do.

Whenever there’s music that’s a part of a book, I instantly love it so much more. I can relate to the description and the characters so much better because even though these characters are fictional, you feel connected by the shared love for music. In The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough, Flora is a jazz musician in the 20th century, which I absolutely love. Mia is a cello player in If I Stay by Gayle Forman and it’s an extremely powerful metaphor throughout the book. In one of the Throne of Glass books by Sarah J. Maas, Celaena is moved to tears during the symphony. I think that’s why I love her character so much, because she’s a kickass assassin who also can be feminine and gets moved to tears by music.

So, what I’m trying to say hear is I want more music in books, especially YA novels. You can’t walk down the street, ride the bus/subway, or even go through a store without music playing or seeing someone listening to music on their phone. So why isn’t this present in novels? What have you experience with music? Do you play an instrument(s) or even write music? Do you agree that we need more mention of music in our books?

Leave a Reply

