Harry Potter Movie Marathon | Thoughts and Feels

hpThe last few days, I spent 22ish consecutive hours (took a break this morning and afternoon) marathoning all 8 Harry Potter movies and I have no regrets. So, 22 or so movie watching hours and many, many snacks later I bring you my officials thoughts and feelings on the best series in movie form.

Of course, I’ve seen the movies probably close to dozens of times each, so these movies are very obviously dear to my heart and yet I’ve never watched them all back to back. After this, my rankings of the movies from best to worst has changed so why not start with that.

From favorite to least favorite…

  • Goblet of Fire
  • Deathly Hallows Part 2
  • Half-Blood Prince
  • Sorcerer’s Stone TIED Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Deathly Hallows Part 1
  • Order of the Phoenix
  • Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter MoviesMovie Discussions

Let’s have a quick mini-discussion on each film, shall we?

Sorcerer’s Stone

11.gifI really love this movie because it’s what starts it all and does such a fantastic job of bringing the magic alive! The actors are all so young in the beginning and it’s adorably perfect. I absolutely love the chess scene, Ron and Harry bonding over sweets on the train, Hermione being so sassy throughout the whole thing, quidditch. The only thing I could want more out of this movie is the potion challenge because that shows off Hermione’s skills, although it’s understandable why they left it out of the movie.

Chamber of Secrets

12.gifMeh… I’ve never liked this one much at all. I don’t like the book and the movie doesn’t really do it for me either. I find Lockhart both entirely insufferable and yet he’s one of the best characters in this installment. I suppose part of the reason I dislike this one so much is it lacks Hermione and all of the spiders. I hate spiders. Although, I can’t deny how much I enjoy the basilisk scene. The floo powder scene also absolutely kills me every time.Β You had one job, Harry.

Prisoner of Azkaban

13Yes! Yesss! There’s so many things I love in this movie! First of all, Draco has some fantastic one liners such as when he’s talking to Buckbeak “I bet you’re not dangerous at all are you, you great ugly brute?” (or something like that). Lupin is by far one of my favorite characters and it breaks my heart every time I watch this because I just keep thinking of how Lupin must feel. Think about it, he could’ve been Uncle Remus but he’s just Professor Lupin. Also prompts the question of when are we getting that Marauders book/movie everyone wants?? I think this movie also has one of the most interesting plot lines, with the time turner and such. Also, you know… Hermione punching Draco is always great to watch.

Goblet of Fire

14This is by far my favorite movie and book out of all of them! I honestly love this one so much. I don’t know if the tournament, or the yule ball, or the fact that our little witches and wizards are growing up. Probably a combination of all of them. It was said that the director did initially want to split this into two parts, but the company didn’t want to do that but I so wish that they did. If they did, the tasks could’ve been even better than they already were (looking at you, maze task). I think Mad-Eye Moody is perfect in this and it also marks the true beginning of the rest of the series, in my opinion, with the return of Voldemort. Hermione’s infatuation with Krum is hilarious, along with Ron’s jealousy. I JUST LOVE THIS ONE SO MUCH.

Order of the Phoenix

15I don’t really have much against this one, just if I had to watch one of the movies I wouldn’t pick this one (probably). I do absolutely love all of the Umbridge scenes and the Dumbledore’s Army scenes, those are so great. But I don’t quite care for the characterization of Harry in this adaption. Obviously he’s very angsty in the book since the return of Voldemort but something in the translation just bothers me a lot. Also, compared to the series as a whole this one isn’t too memorable for me. Of course, Sirius’s death makes me cry and I love the introduction to Luna, but other than that… I’m just not too sure.

Half-Blood Prince

16The older I’ve gotten, the more I’ve grown to love this movie. I remember really not liking it when I was younger, but the more I watch it, the more I fall in love with it. The quidditch trials and the liquid luck scene crack me up, along with Fred and George’s shop. Slughorn is such a unique and interesting character and a fun addition to the cast, and the development of Voldemort’s past is amazing (although not quite all of it made it onto the screen). Obviously this is the one where Draco and Harry’s rivalry really starts to clash and it’s so good. Snape also has such a good dynamic this time around, and once again… I always cry during Dumbledore’s death and the mourning. The only reason that this doesn’t snag the second place slot is because of poor Ginny. What did they do to you?!?! Ginny movie is atrocious, and don’t even get me started on that dumb kiss in the room of requirement.

Deathly Hallows Part 1

17Okay quick story time. This was only my second time ever watching this part, the first time being in theater. For some reason, I remember hating it and find it quite boring when in reality, I really really loved it. I actually watched liking the gang be on the run and seeing their dynamics emerge outside of school more. Especially the fight between Harry and Ron. Speaking of Ron, the chemistry between him and Hermione is built so well, I never realized it. The polyjuice potion and the seven Harry scene is absolutely hilarious and poor Hedwig’s death made me cry. She didn’t deserve it! (Although it does mark the end of Harry’s childhood, which I think is important). In this you can also really see the horrors of the Horcruxes with them having to constantly pass the locket around and the effect it has on them. The way they tell the Tale of the Three Bothers is also super cool!

Deathly Hallows Part 2

18Love this movie. Absolutely love it. I think it was done so beautifully and there are scenes that will make me cry 100% of the time, so that just tells you how great it is. Or how emotional Harry Potter makes me, one or the other. The destruction of Hogwarts, when the statues come to life, Voldemort actually killing Harry, running down to the boathouse, destroying the diadem.. these scenes all give me major chills. I do think Ron and Hermione’s kiss was a bit awkward, it was funnier in the book. But, it was better than Ginny and Harry so I can’t complain. The dragon scene is epic, Dobby’s miniature funeral in the beginning is so sad, the King’s Cross Station scene is beautiful. It’s just a perfect finale in my opinion.


Well this turned into a much longer post than expected, but feel free to share your thoughts and feels in the comments below! I’d love to know which movie is your favorite!

14 thoughts on “Harry Potter Movie Marathon | Thoughts and Feels

  1. Omg so proud of you for getting through this marathon, you may rest your eyes now. My favorite movie is The Goblet of Fire (though I hated that Neville was the one who helped Harry with the Gillyweed and not Dobby!) because it was so amazingly done! Tbh, my least favorite is Half-blood Prince haha, I just really didn’t liked the movie. Though all books were definitely MUCH BETTER than the movies. πŸ˜…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you haha! I still don’t know how I quite did it! Oooh that Gillyweed scene bothers me too, but I suppose it makes sense from the movie point of view with Crouch under the polyjuice potion giving Neville the book. I agree the books are always better πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like so much fun! I am so glad to find another person that doesn’t rank Prisoner of Azkaban at the bottom. Majority hates that movie and I don’t know why! I’m sure it is hard watching them all at once, but I definitely want to try to do it one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did end up taking a small break, but it was almost consecutive! That actually surprises me, I wonder why so many people dislike it… I think it was done wonderfully well! If you’ve got a weekend to spare it’s loads of fun 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goblet of Fire was definitely the most “fun” to watch because…well, I’d assume everyone loves competitions haha. I’ve seen so many mixed opinions as to the creative direction in Azakaban but I really did like the tone that film set going forward (everything just felt more darker afterwards (?)).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

