Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead | Book Review

shadow kiss

“If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you just defended Christian’s honor. Isn’t he a pain in the ass?
“Yes he is. But for the next 6 weeks he’s MY pain in the ass.”

Blurb (Goodreads)- Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

Rose knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend, Lissa – the last Dragomir princess – must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes to gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken…

Then a strange darkness begins to grow in Rose’s mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. The immortal undead are closing in, and they want vengeance for the lives Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most… but will her choice mean that only one can survive?

Thoughts- Out of the three Vampire Academy books I’ve read so far, this is by far my favorite. There were good action scenes, I think I’m actually starting to like Rose a bit (shocker I know), and there was quite a cliff hanger!

Of course there still are the issues that I seem to have with this entire series, including slow starts and disliking the main romance (we’ll get to this), but for the most part… it really did improve from it’s prequels. This was by far the most interesting story line, because it’s a multitude of mini-story lines that don’t appear to connect, but then come together in a beautiful way. I loved the way Mead tied up all of the loose ends except for the main cliff hanger, because now I truly do want to read the next book.

After three books, Rose is finally starting to stop be a brat all the time. Of course it took her a while because things initially didn’t go her way, but she does step up to the challenges presented to her and make the best out of them. Dare I say that I like Rose now? I’m not sure considering she’s still got three more books not to regress.

sk quote

The side characters, as per usual, shine the most. I absolutely adore Christian and how much he stood up for himself in this book, Adrian was his charming self (I’m sorry, I can’t help it and love the bad boy/black sheep), and I even grew to like Eddie quite a bit and the strength he provides. Sadly, there was very little Mia (who has quickly become one of my favorites), but hopefully that will be resolved.

There was so much more development on the political side of the Strigoi vs. Moroi history, and I can’t get enough of it. I just want to know more about the history of the feud, and to spend more time in the Royal Court.

Okay, now the romance. Once again, I still don’t like Rose and Dimitri. At this point, it’s not just the age gap, but rather that I feel like they don’t have a real connection. Rose goes through a transformation this book in realizing that she isn’t just infatuated with Dimitri, but rather in love with him, but I just don’t get it. I’m sure they have a perfectly good connection that others can see, but for some reason I don’t. So, when the end rolled around my reaction was a shrug and an okay. I know so many people were devastated by the end, but there’s my stance on it.

Overall, Shadow Kiss was still my favorite of the Vampire Academy books that I’ve read, and if you stopped after the second one, I highly recommend picking this book up because it’s a fantastic sequel. Here’s to hoping this trend continues!

4(1)

7 thoughts on “Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead | Book Review

Leave a Reply

