Blood Promise by Richelle Mead | Book Review

blood promise

“Okay,” I said, clasping her hand. “I swear it. The next time I go do something stupid that might get me killed, you can come along.”

Blurb (Goodreads)- Rose Hathaway’s life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters … Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?


Thoughts- After how much I enjoyed Shadow Kiss and how I really thought this series was going up, count me extremely disappointed with Blood Promise. Mead went a completely different way with this installment than the previous 3, and while I appreciate that, it didn’t work for me at all.

Here’s the thing, each book in this entire series reads very fast and this one is no exception, besides the fact that 90% of the book is all filler. I feel like Mead rushed this installment, and it was painfully obvious. For having so much action, almost nothing happened at all until the last 100 or so pages. I simply got bored while reading and ended up just reading it to finish it.

There was also the introduction of the Alchemists, a new mythology aspect for the series. I honestly really like where the idea of the Alchemists are going, but I wished their introduction and part in Blood Promise wasn’t as rushed and confusing.

blood promise quote

The book also truly suffers from Lissa and Rose being apart. While I’ve constantly felt like Lissa doesn’t add much to help further the plot along, it definitely didn’t help having the two protagonists separated (especially because they’re bound). However, Lissa isn’t totally lost as the book is told from two perspectives, Rose’s and Lissa’s via Rose looking into her mind. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this because it constantly switched from first person to third person point of view, which felt awkward and clumsy.

What’s so sad about Blood Promise is nearly every single character was their most annoying and hard to read self. Rose was okay until she found Dimitri (but she did turn herself around), Dimitri obviously has this brand new character which I wasn’t a fan of, but it did give him some personality for the first time, and Lissa was beyond annoying to read from. Adrian was once again the saving grace, character wise.

Overall, this book was overly long and tedious with the introduction of way too many new characters to keep track of (most of which we’ll probably never see again), and had the potential to be so much better. At this point, I am definitely going to try to finish the series because I only have 2 more books, but this was by far my least favorite installment.

2

 

3 thoughts on “Blood Promise by Richelle Mead | Book Review

  1. Shame you didn’t enjoy this one 😦 I was on the high of Shadow Kiss so I flew right through this one and enjoyed it a lot.

    The story gets stronger after this I feel. This is really the intro of what the final story arc of the series will be so you’ll see a lot more things at play in the next one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

