Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead | Book Review

spirit bound

“He has no right to threaten my boyfriends. I’m eighteen. An adult. I don’t need his help. I can threaten my boyfriends myself.”

Blurb (Goodreads)- Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong…

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s-and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he’s out there, somewhere.

She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and now he is hunting her. And this time he won’t rest until Rose joins him… forever.


Thoughts- Well, after five whole books in this series, I can finally say I loved this book. For the first time, the twists weren’t nearly as predictable and I actually felt the tension in the action scenes and intense battles.

One of the main reasons for this is that Mead’s prose has finally hit a point where I enjoy enough for it too add to the book and not subtract from it. Spirit Bound also wasn’t nearly as annoying as it’s predecessors, because the plot of the individual book adds to the series as a whole. Speaking of the plot, this installment by far had the most interesting one. While certain elements of the plot were quick and left unanswered, it was a vast improvement.

Although, even with that I’m definitely ready for this series to end. Don’t get me wrong, they’re fun if you’re not expecting too much and that’s the level I’ve hit with this series, not expecting much at all. Of course I’m still going to read the last one because I’m stubborn, and I want to finish this series.

sb quote

Okay, now here’s the deal. Rose is definitely a character that you love or hate. While there are moments where I definitely like Rose, her decisions and actions drive me absolutely insane. By this point, I care very little for Rose (and Rose + Dimitri for that matter), which is why the books never seem to hit the spot for me. However, I let that go during this book, and I thoroughly enjoyed it much more.

The side characters (aka not Rose) are the ones that shine the most again. Dimitri actually became an interesting character to read about and expressed the most emotion we’ve ever squeezed out of him, Lissa grows so, so much (and actually adds something to the plot besides saving her, for once), and even Adrian and Christian have their amazing moments as well. Once again, there wasn’t enough Mia, but oh well.

Basically, while I may not be the biggest fan of the series as a whole (to be honest, I don’t even know if I count myself as a “fan”), Spirit Bound sticks out to me a lot. Blood Promise was such a huge disappointment, but Mead brought it back so well. Characters get back where they belong (I’m looking at you Lissa and Christian), and we get to see even more of the Moroi Royal Court, which is my favorite aspect.

4(1)

2 thoughts on “Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead | Book Review

Leave a Reply

