Childhood Books That Got Me Reading | Tea Time Talk

tea time talk

So, the other day I was perusing my bookshelf, as any normal book geek does, when I noticed a good portion of my childhood books stuffed up on the top shelf. Seeing them again got me thinking about the books that truly did get me into reading, and I’d thought it would be fun to share them with you!

I’m going to attempt to do this list chronologically, but who knows how accurate it will be. I don’t seem to have the best long term memory, especially when it comes to things that I read 7-11 years ago!

The Roald Dahl Stage

MatildaWhen I was around 6 or 7 years old, I started getting more into “chapter books”, and by chapters, I mean books that were longer than 20 pages and not just pictures. My mom loves picture books (she still buys them today even though both of her kids are adults), but she got me a bunch of Roald Dahl books. I freaking loved these books, in particular Matilda and The Witches. I also read The BFG, but it scared me for some unknown reason. Sadly, I can’t remember if I’ve read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or if I’ve even seen the movie. See what I was saying about the memory thing?

The Lauren Myracle Stage

ttylTo be completely honest, this is what I’m most embarrassed about. I apparently have no clue what I read between the ages of 7 through 9, but as soon as I hit that 10 year old mark, I figured I had to start reading “grown-up” books. Keep in mind, Lauren Myracle is so far from so called “grown-up” books, that it’s almost funny. I started out by reading her Internet Girls books, which are relatively substantial books composed completely of IM messages. IM-ing was super popular then, so I thought I was so cool for reading these. However, when I look back I really shouldn’t have read these so young because they center around three high school age girls who go out and do high school girl stereotypical stuff (partying, getting drunk, loosing shirts at parties, hooking up), even though that’s not what most high schoolers do (some do, but I don’t at least). Maybe theses warned me off of stuff like that? Probably not.

TenThen I started reading her The Winnie Years series, which started with Winnie turning 11, creatively titled Eleven. I think I started reading these right when I turned 11 myself, but since they were published way before I turned 11, I read all the way up through Thirteen Plus One (why it’s not just fourteen beats me) when I was still 11. This series is pretty blurry in my mind, but I vividly remember that Winnie got a cat for her 11th birthday right before her birthday party started, but it got stuck in the chimney, and her, her friends, and her family spent the entire party getting the cat out. Weird, right?

The Erin Hunter Stage

Into the WildErin Hunter wrote the Warriors Universe books, and let me tell you, these books were my life in my late elementary school/early middle school years (ages 10 to 12ish). These are the books about wild cats who are separated into four different clans, and the clan politics (of course to me, it wasn’t politics because ya know… I was 10) between them. The original series followed a house cat who is inducted into a clan and it follows his rise in the ranks. I read so many of these books, in fact they’re all on my Nook to this day. I read the Warrior series, Warriors: The New Prophecy, Warriors: The Power of Three, Warriors: Field Guide, and even tried her Seekers series, although I didn’t like it nearly as much because it wasn’t cats. Seriously, these books were my jam as a kid.

The J.K. Rowling Stage

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's StoneWithout a doubt, the best reading stage for any young human, and the only stage that has stayed with me throughout teenagedom and will stay with me throughout “legal adulthood” (aka 18 and older, because I’m turning 18 this year). It’s Harry Potter! We all love Harry Potter here, and why wouldn’t we? But, it’s been a part of my life ever since I’d say 8 years old. It all started out at the hair salon. No, I’m not kidding, that is where I was first read the wonderful Harry Potter. My brother was getting his haircut and I was impatient, so my mom started to read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone out loud to me. Of course I was enchanted, so she continued to read them aloud to both me and my brother. I think she read only the first two out loud to us, until I got tired of waiting until story time at the end of the day, so I started reading them myself. To be totally honest, I don’t think I got through the entire series when I was that young (also Deathly Hallows had just come out not too long ago at this point, so the hype was real), but I finished them when I was probably around 12 or 13 years old.

Now, I’ve read the whole series multiple times, and certain books from the series close to a dozen times. I even have the itch to reread them again next month, just because they’re that good.


What books got you into reading? Did you read much as a child, or did you get into reading later? What are your favorite childhood books? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to discuss!

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Childhood Books That Got Me Reading | Tea Time Talk

  1. You clearly had a good foundation! My own mother “tricked” me into reading with Marguerite Henry books and later the Anne of Green Gables series. I was late to the Harry Potter bandwagon, only diving in full throttle about two years ago (which was followed by forcing my whole family to watch all the movies). I didn’t realize Matilda was a book! Must make a mental note to check the library for it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s such a motherly thing to do, I love it! In my opinion, you can never be late to Harry Potter because it will always be popular! Of course you’d probably be spoiled easier now, but that doesn’t ruin the charm. Oh, the Matilda book is so cute, definitely a fun and quick read.

      Like

  2. This is a handful of wonderful books you’ve listed! I have to agree with Warriors and Roald Dalph’s books, they were books that made me love reading more in my childhood too ^^ and weirdly enough, I started the love of reading back in middle school, I literally had no friends and decided to check out the books in the library, it’s a miracle πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nancy Drew! I can’t believe I forgot about those, I even had a Nancy Drew video game when I was younger. Percy Jackson is also fantastic, but I didn’t read those until I was a good bit older. Anyone can enjoy HP at any age, and I’m glad to hear you loved it!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I read the first one to them two years ago, but they were too afraid back then to continue with it. This summer, I encouraged them to read it on their own because it’s an important part of culture now [Coincidentally, my current post is about that subject]

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

