Birthstone As Books | Book Tag

birthstones

As I was pondering what to post today, Azia at The Uncharted Word just so happened to tag me in the Birthstone Book Tag! This tag was originally created by Booktuber Jay G. Since I’m also a nosy person (sometimes), let me know what your birthstone is, and what book you’d pick for that question.

GARNET (JANUARY)- Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies, name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

For this, I have to go with Winter by Marissa Meyer simply because of Levanna. She is one evil queen, for sure.

AMETHYST (FEBRUARY)- Purple is associated with royalty, name a book with regal qualities…You can base your choice on characters or choose the king (or queen) of all books.

The first book that pops into my mind the The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima. Perhaps it’s because I’m currently reading it, but it certainly has very close ties with many aspects of royalty.

AQUAMARINE (MARCH)- Washed out, name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or is a follower.

This may be a bit contradictory, but my first instinct is Eadlyn Schreave from The Heir by Kiera Cass. Definitely not Eadlyn in her second book, but in The Heir she is so far from being a strong character and is honestly terrible.

DIAMOND (APRIL)- A diamond in the rough, name a book that you loved but is not well known.

I’ve mentioned this book and series several times on my blog, but I 100% must go with Eon by Alison Goodman. No this is not a new book, but the whole duology are utterly fantastic. Dragons are such a tricky thing to write about, and this book flawlessly pulls it off. So seriously, go read this book. Actually… go read both of them.

EMERALD (MAY)- Said to balance energy, name two characters who balance each other well.

This is definitely an interesting question! My definite answer is Shahrzad and Khalid from The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. These two balance each other out so perfectly, and so beautifully. I just love them so much.

PEARL (JUNE)- Associated with loyalty, name a character who is loyal to the end.

Cassandra Clare writes so many wonderful characters in all of her series, but out of all of them I have to choose Gabriel and Gideon Lightwood from Clockwork Prince. If you’ve read this second book or the entire series, you know why.

RUBY (JULY)- Blood red, name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Ugh TOTALLY Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne.

So much wrong, and I will rant about this book until I die. In fact, I’ll probably haunt Jack Thorne now, for payback of course.

PERIDOT (AUGUST)- It pales in comparison to other gems, name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

Pretty much every character in City of Bones by Cassandra Clare other than Clary. Especially Simon! Clary kinda sucks in the first couple of books.

SAPPHIRE (SEPTEMBER)- Blue like the ocean which is calming, name a book that had a calming affect on you.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. This is a bit odd considering this book is so far from being calming, but I can read this book for days and stay completely in my own mind and calm.

OPAL (OCTOBER)- Iridescent, name an iridescent book; this can be with a beautiful cover (shiny, colorful) or you can base it off a character (quirky? unique?).

I might have disliked Magonia by Maria Dhavana Headley, but man is that cover absolutely freaking gorgeous. It’s so pretty, and almost reminds me of an opal.

TOPAZ (NOVEMBER)- Associated with resilience, name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

You know who has a pretty crappy life by totally rises above it? Josie Moraine from Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. Josie absolutely rises to the top and won’t let anything or anyone get in her way of her goal to go to college.

BLUE ZIRCON (DECEMBER)- Associated with friendship, name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

I mean, obviously I have to choose the Golden Trio, Harry, Ron, and Hermione from Harry Potter. Who doesn’t want to be them? Be real here.


I TAG…

Since I’m not feeling too well, I’m just going to tag the entire world. Anyone who would like to participate in this super cute tag is welcome to!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Birthstone As Books | Book Tag

  1. I love your answers. And I love Eon! I didn’t think anyone else had read it. It’s nice to find a fellow lover of the duology. And I didn’t like Magonia (didn’t finish it) but the cover is gorgeous. I keep it on my shelves just to keep my room looking pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shazi and Khalid are definitely a power couple, and I’d love to be a part of Harry’s gang as well! My birthstone is aquamarine, and I completely agree with you. Eadlyn was intolerable in The Heir, and I was really disappointed with her after loving the dynamics between America and Maxon so much. However, she did redeem herself in The Crown, and finally started exhibiting the maturity level of an adult.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad you mentioned Eon. I think my favorite aspect of the series is the concept of the energy-dragons in general. Pretty unique on Alison Goodman’s part. And yes! I honestly couldn’t stand Eadlyn in either The Heir or The Crown. And I literally dove back into The Seven Realms series because of your TEQ review!

    Great tag by the way! I’d do it if I wasn’t such a newbie at this blogging thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still think you should try out this tag if you want to! It takes time and effort to find your own personal blogging style. Eon is definitely the most unique dragons I’ve read, and I absolutely adore the masquerading aspect. Oh my gosh I’m so honored that my review actually got someone reading the book! Thank you for telling me that. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

