The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

the-gray-wolf-throne

“There’s something about a roof isn’t there? It makes you feel like it doesn’t matter what’s going on below. All of those things that get in the way of your dreams – you’re above them. Anything is possible.”  

Blurb (Goodreads)- Han Alister thought he had already lost everyone he loved. But when he finds his friend Rebecca Morley near death in the Spirit Mountains, Han knows that nothing matters more than saving her. The costs of his efforts are steep, but nothing can prepare him for what he soon discovers: the beautiful, mysterious girl he knew as Rebecca is none other than Raisa ana’Marianna, heir to the Queendom of the Fells. Han is hurt and betrayed. He knows he has no future with a blueblood. And, as far as he’s concerned, the princess’s family as good as killed his own mother and sister. But if Han is to fulfill his end of an old bargain, he must do everything in his power to see Raisa crowned queen.

Meanwhile, some people will stop at nothing to prevent Raisa from ascending. With each attempt on her life, she wonders how long it will be before her enemies succeed. Her heart tells her that the thief-turned-wizard Han Alister can be trusted. She wants to believe it—he’s saved her life more than once. But with danger coming at her from every direction, Raisa can only rely on her wits and her iron-hard will to survive—and even that might not be enough.


Thoughts- Here’s my “I can’t process my emotions, so have a GIF” review.

yaaaas

Okay, actual review time (although that GIF is quite accurate).

**As this is the third book in a series, it may contain spoiler about the previous two. Not about this book, though**

If you’ve read my previous two reviews for this series, you may have figured out that I love this series SO much, like it’s very quickly become one of my all time favorite series. The characters, the world, the tensions, and the twists are just so good. Each book in the series leaves me wanting to read the next book right away. I love them so much I’ve put off reading Empire of Storms to finish the quartet. Yeah, I know.

The Gray Wolf Throne is no exception. I didn’t love it nearly as much as the previous two, but it was still such a fantastic book. My favorite aspects of this series (and especially this installment) is that nothing in the book is filler. At the time, some scenes may not seem too important, but everything comes to together in an almost magical and heartbreaking way near the end.

This is the book where everything basically falls apart, and it’s up to Raisa (and Han) as the heir to the Queen of the Fells to start and put it all back together. The realms are at war, a crap ton of people die, the stakes are higher than ever, and of course there’s plenty of forbidden romance tucked away (my favorite)!

tgwt-quote

Raisa, both as a princess/queen and a character by far had the most development this book. While both Han and Raisa receive similar amounts of POVs and attention, the first book focused more on Han’s journey and this book focused more on Raisa’s. She’s thrust into this brand new situation that she believes she isn’t ready for yet, but truly steps up to the challenge. I liked how she still kept her snarky aspect of her character, and wasn’t afraid to tell people off (like Hakkram, Micah Bayar, and Gerad Montaigne). Of course, I still love Han Alister as well. He’s such a beautifully flawed characters and I want more protagonists like him.

The plot this time around was phenomenal. I never knew what was coming, and the majority of the twists caught me off guard. The only one I guessed from the very beginning was Crow’s identity, which I was very proud of myself for getting right. The Gray Wolf Throne is full of all sorts of revelations and upheavals in character’s lives. Raisa telling Han the truth, Amon telling Raisa the truth, the mess with Micah and Gavan Bayar, and Queen Marianna. I really applaud Chima for putting her characters through terrible situations, yet still keeping their proper personalities.

Overall, another very solid book in the Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima. If you haven’t read this series and it sounds like your kind of thing, go read it and then come discuss with me. If you have yet to read the third book, but you have read the previous two… what are you doing? Go read!

Rating-

 

8 thoughts on “The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

  1. *reads review despite spoilers because I like torture* But for real, your reviews of this series have made me pick up the books again after just reading TDK back when it came out. I’m slowly getting through TEQ, but so many other books are stealing my attention. I’ll continue though, come back here to gush/fangirl with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

