The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

the-crimson-crown

“So here’s the truth – I love you. I love everything about you – the way you stick up for people even when it costs you. The way you keep trying to do the right thing even when you’re not exactly sure what the right thing is. I love how you put words together. You’re as skilled with words as any knife fighter with a blade. You can put an enemy down on his back, or you can raise people up so they find what’s best in themselves. You’ve changed my life. You’ve given me the words I need to become whatever I want…”

Blurb (Goodreads)- A thousand years ago, two young lovers were betrayed-Alger Waterlow to his death, and Hanalea, Queen of the Fells, to a life without love.

Now, once again, the Queendom of the Fells seems likely to shatter apart. For young queen Raisa ana’Marianna, maintaining peace even within her own castle walls is nearly impossible; tension between wizards and Clan has reached a fevered pitch. With surrounding kingdoms seeking to prey on the Fells’ inner turmoil, Raisa’s best hope is to unite her people against a common enemy. But that enemy might be the person with whom she’s falling in love.

Through a complicated web of lies and unholy alliances, former streetlord Han Alister has become a member of the Wizard Council of the Fells. Navigating the cut-throat world of blue blood politics has never been more dangerous, and Han seems to inspire hostility among Clan and wizards alike. His only ally is the queen, and despite the perils involved, Han finds it impossible to ignore his feelings for Raisa. Before long, Han finds himself in possession of a secret believed to be lost to history, a discovery powerful enough to unite the people of the Fells. But will the secret die with him before he can use it?

A simple, devastating truth concealed by a thousand-year-old lie at last comes to light in this stunning conclusion to the Seven Realms series.


Thoughts- It has only been two full days since my review for the previous book in this series went up. It only took me two whole days (actually more around a day and a half) to read this huge 600 page book. Basically it was amazing. The “oh my gosh, this book has killed me” amazing.

I know, I know. You obviously know by this point that I freaking love this series to death now, but let me just reiterate it one more time. I love this series (and this book) so much that it might’ve just pushed ACOMAF out of my #1 best book of the year spot. I’ve read so many fantastic books this year, and The Crimson Crown is by far no exception. This installment was also my favorite in the quartet.

Everything is just flawless this time around. There’s more action and conflict than ever, which I always welcome. All of those tensions and disputes between characters that Chima has spent the last three books building finally explode, and it’s so wonderful. There’s so many showdowns between enemies and final battles between them. Although, what I loved is that those final battles are both physical fighting and big political disputes (basically Raisa slapping jerks in the face… with her words).

In a complex world like the one Chima has built with all these different Realms present, there should be more than one main enemy, which Chima nails perfectly. I feel like every main character had their own enemies to fight, yet it never felt overwhelming because everyone went through ups and downs at different times. Raisa is fighting against generals and even her own family who are stuck in the past, and Han is constantly fighting the Bayars. Gavan Bayar honestly might be my favorite antagonist that you love to hate.

tcc-quote

The plot is woven together so beautifully and intricately, and I was constantly surprised by some of the twists thrown in this book. You’ve really got everything this time around… magic, political intrigue, betrayal, romance, family bonds/tension, murder mystery, rebellion, and pretty much changing the world. Seriously I don’t know what else you could want in a book.

The characters, as per usual, are so wonderful. Raisa is truly seen in a new light as she’s beginning to step into her role as queen. I really liked the fact that near the end of the book, she did end up doubting herself about whether she could continue to rule an entire realm. It made her instantly more real and relatable. Han is also growing into his new role, and yet he still cherishes his time as a streetlord and doesn’t abandon any of his beliefs just because he has money. Han is honestly a fantastic protagonist, and I can’t wait to read more about him in the Shatter Realms series. Han’s relationship with Crow (aka someone else) was also SO cute to read. Crow’s development has also been so nice, and I’m very impressed that Chima made me care about characters who lived a thousand year ago so much.

Much like every other book in this series, The Crimson Crown isn’t a fast paced book, but by no means does that make it a boring book. This is definitely an aspect to consider when starting this series, but don’t let it discourage you.

Overall, another fantastic book in the Seven Realms series, and I’m actually quite sad that this series is over. You can bet I’m going to pick up the Shatter Realms series as soon as I can get my hands on a copy.

Rating-

One thought on “The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima | Book Review

Leave a Reply

