Book Recommendations | 2016 Edition

recommendations

Are you in that awful situation of never knowing what to read next? Looking at your bookshelf with no idea what to pick up? Well I’m now here to help by recommending some amazing books for you to pick up and read.

I’ve never really done book recommendations on my blog, I suppose my reviews stand in for that, but I thought it would be fun to showcase some of my favorites, especially the books I read before starting blogging. We’ll split this into different genre categories, so let’s get going. The book covers will also link to the Goodreads page!

CONTEMPORARY

simon-vs-the-homosapiens-agendaI read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda waaaaay back in the beginning of the year, and it still holds true that it’s one of my favorite books of the year. In this book, we follow Simon, who is not openly gay, through part of his high school career. Simon has been e-mailing his “friend” Blue all summer, and when their secret online relationship is leaked into the school, you can bet that chaos ensues.

The book transitions from Simon’s point of view and Simon and Blue’s messages, and it is the cutest thing I think I’ve ever read. This book simply made me happy. There’s no other way to describe it. So if you’re feeling down one day, give Simon’s story a go.


the-one-thingThe One Thing is another cute and quick read, and yet it packs quite a punch along with it. The story follows Maggie Sanders, who is a rebellious high schooler, with a small twist. Maggie has lost her sight and is now completely blind. Until one day, when she can miraculously see this spunky little ten year old named Ben. Maggie and Ben form one of the most adorkable friendships of all time, until Maggie learns the real reason why she can see Ben and nothing else.

This debut novel from Marci Lyn Curtis packs such an amazing story. You honestly aren’t expecting such an emotional and crazy read from such a cute blurb, but I actually teared up quite a bit during this. It has the best friendship in the world, a bit of romance, shows the power of music, and most importantly, the power of love. If you’re in the mood for a quick, yet emotional read I highly recommend The One Thing.

FANTASY

the-demon-kingHave you all heard me gush about this book enough yet? Apparently not, because I’m going to recommend The Demon King once again! This series has very quickly become one of my all time favorite series, and for very good reasons.

Not only is it full of amazing and complex characters who keep you on your toes, but the story is incredible. It definitely isn’t the fastest paced book in the world, but by no means is it boring. The story is so intricate, and yet woven together so beautifully. I could never put these books down. The writing style is also very enchanting, and Cinda Williams Chima has a way of drawing her readers in and keeping them. So, if you’re looking for a series with lots of political intrigue, magic, romance, and yet still a solid amount of action, definitely pick up the first book to the Seven Realms series.


six-of-crowsSix of Crows is by far one of the best books I’ve read of all time. Plus it’s the perfect time to t pick it up as the second and final book of the series is coming out tomorrow! Also, even though this is set in the Grisha universe, you most definitely do not need to read the original Grisha trilogy before picking this up.

This book seriously has everything that you (at least for me) could want in a fantasy book. An amazing cast of characters all complete with equally balanced point of views, a dangerous and potentially deadly heist, so much diversity including people of color and gay characters who actually add to the plot, a beautiful and complex world, and an enchanting story to go along with it. Plus this book itself is beautiful looking, which is always an added bonus (in my opinion). So if you’re looking for a heart-wrenching book, that is almost perfect (subject to opinion) I highly, highly recommend giving Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo a shot.

HISTORICAL FICTION

between-shades-of-grayIf you want a fantastic and rich historical fiction book that still falls under the YA genre, Ruta Sepetys is your gal. In particular, her debut novel, Between Shades of Gray, is so powerful and moving, it will always be one of my favorite reads. The story follows Lina, who is fifteen in the beginning of the story, when she is abruptly taken from her home in 1941 during the Nazi occupation. The story encompasses over a year, showcasing the hardships that Lina and her family had to go through.

I’ve only read this book once, but I want to read it again because it is such an important novel, especially if you love history. What I love the most about Sepetys is that she writes about stories that aren’t told enough. A young girl during a time of terror when her home is wiped away from the map, the sinking of the Willem Gustloff which was more devastating than theΒ Titanic, and how a young girl of girl lives her daily life in New Orleans during the 1950s. I absolutely recommend her books, because each of them are fantastic, although Between Shades of Gray is my personal favorite.


the-book-thiefAh, the ultimate historical fiction classical. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I know what you’re thinking, surely everyone has read this book by now? I actually don’t think so. This book was initially proposed to me through school, and while it didn’t become the book selected for that unit, I put off reading it because… school. I regret doing that now, because this book is beautiful. It’s heart warming, it’s heart breaking, it most likely will make you cry, but it also makes you think.

If you are unaware, The Book Thief follows Liesel Meminger through several years of her life during World War II in Germany. This book is especially loved by us book geeks because it centers around the true power of books and words, and how they can change lives forever. Liesel initially doesn’t know how to read, but with the help of her foster father, she learns and it changes her life. Since books were all burned during this time, Liesel has to satisfy her need for knowledge by becoming a book thief, with the help of her trusty friend Rudy. The Book Thief is a tale of friendship, family, war, and books. And it’s beautiful.

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Book Recommendations | 2016 Edition

  1. I’ve just finished Six of Crows a couple of days ago. It left me amazed, I have to agree, it’s one of the best fantasy book I’ve ever read. Oh, and my personal favorite character is Nina, she’s awesome πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a primarily fantasy reader, I loved The Demon King and Tumblr has practically been beating me in the face with Six of Crowds. I still have Shadow and Bone waiting to be read, though. My brother was forced to read The Book Thief and actually liked it once he realized it was narrated by death (he has my morbid mind).

    It’s truly rare that a debut author can blow us away. Kudos to Ms. Sepetys!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YAS, YAS, YAS, a million times yas to Between Shades of Gray. I had to take so many breaks while reading that book because it made me feel so sick to my stomach, but in a good way. It was so raw and pure and so beautifully written. Definitely ripped my heart out a few times and crushed it. I’ve been wanting to reread it, but i’m almost scared to.

    Happy Reading!

    Amber @ bibliomaniacbibliophile

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stephanie Perkins’s books are always a solid choice, along with Rainbow Rowell (although I’ve only read Fangirl which I loved), or To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I hoped this helped! I’m not the biggest contemporary fans, so there’s not a lot I’ve read.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

