Inaccurate Book Covers | Top 5 Wednesday

top-5-wednesday2

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. You find out more about T5W and the weekly topics on the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is all about book covers that doesn’t accurately represent the book!

Those books that have nothing to do with the story, or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the actual main character, or it’s a really cheesy cover for a great read!

I actually struggled with this week’s topic a little bit, but here are my choices for the week.

october-12

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead- The original VA covers are the epitome of this week’s topic. If you haven’t read the series, what would you think it was about? The covers were actually part of the reason I put this series off for so long.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare- Whenever my brother hears me talking about books, he always asks “Is the one with the naked guy on the cover?” While 90% of the time it isn’t (plus he isn’t completely naked, I think), I think that question speaks for this cover all on its own.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne- This is a very beautiful book (if you haven’t taken off the dust jacket… do it), but the cover makes no sense. What is the nest? Are the wings supposed to be the augur tattoo? Is the whole ensemble meant to be a snitch? Who’s in the nest? We’ll never know.

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare- Okay, the main reason why this one is on here is because I’ve never understood why Alec gets to be TWO covers (and both in a row), and yet Izzy doesn’t get to be on a single one. Where’s my girl power at?

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han- This is a very contemporary book style cover, but I still feel like it doesn’t show the meaning of the book. Maybe if Lara Jean was reading a letter? I’m not sure.

14 thoughts on “Inaccurate Book Covers | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. And here I thought nobody else noticed, LOL. I figured COB was just pandering to hormonal teen girls. Most the time, I just ignore grossly inaccurate covers (of which there are many), but other times…WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never clued in that it was Alec on the cover on City of Fallen Angels…I always assumed it was Simon because it was supposed to be his spin-off story 😛 But Alec makes more sense!

    The VA covers are all cheesy; I’m not sure what else the covers could be though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tend to not like covers with models on, so I agree with the majority of these (obviously not just because I don’t like them ahaha). The Jenny Han one I sort of get because it looks like she’s writing a letter, but the rest ??? The Cursed Child one will never fail to confuse me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wonder sometimes what the designer were thinking when they design these covers… I understand that they are trying to reach a certain audience but there are times where I look at the cover then back at the book and think, ‘how the heck did they think this was a good fit.” 😄
    I found what you wrote to be very entertaining and found myself chuckling a couple of times as I’ve had similar thoughts towards the covers you discussed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

