Outgrowing Authors And All That Jazz | Tea Time Talk

ttt-17

One lovely afternoon while procrastinating on BookTube, this young blogger stumbled across reviews for the latest Rick Riordan book. Even though this person (aka me) no longer finds enjoyment out of Riordan’s writing, I watched the review, and I must admit… I’m confused.

All I’ve heard is raving reviews and comments, when I couldn’t even finish The Hidden Oracle (or whatever the actual title was, I can’t remember if that’s the book or series title), and it led me to think about why.

OUTGROWING THE AUTHOR

Obviously, humans age and mature over time, and your own personal taste for what you like to read changes along with that. However, content inside of a book doesn’t age. Surprise surprise, it’s exactly the same as the day you bought it! Therefore, it’s 100% possible for you to outgrow an author’s writing style.

Let’s take a little ponder down memory lane, the Rick Riordan memory lane to be exact. I honestly don’t know the first time I read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series for the first time, but I know I was young. I also know I still love that series to this day (my poor copy of The Lightning Thief is so beat up, I’m afraid it’s going to fall apart). I did read The Heroes of Olympus as they came out, but at this point that was a long time ago.

However, the last book in that series (Blood of Olympus) is what I now believe to mark the end of the Riordan Reign. I remember being so disappointed by the ending and how ridiculous it was, because a nosebleed, really? Yes, The Kane Chronicles came out before these, but I could never get into those to begin with. Along comes Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, I read it. It was okay, I didn’t feel attached it. Then, as you know, The Trials of Apollo/The Hidden Oracle was the first Riordan book I ever DNFed.

For me, Riordan is the prime example of outgrowing an author. I simply became knowledgeable enough to know his plot line before even reading the book, the pop-culture references were no longer funny, but actually quite annoying, and the characters lacked depth.

However, where I’m confused is how I can’t stand his latest books, and yet the original PJO series remains one of my favorite series after all these years. Now is where I ask your opinion, do you think it’s possible for an author to decline in their writing? Can the author outgrow you?

PERHAPS I’VE GOTTEN PICKIER?

There is also the case that it’s in no way the author, and simply it’s me. I’ve been reading for a very long time, so I know what I like in a book. Especially since I’ve started blogging and writing reviews, it’s much easier for my brain to analytically read/think about a book and pick out specifically what I like, and what I don’t.

So, as I continue to read, am I pickier about what I want from a book? The straightforward answer is of course. I obviously have expectations for a book to uphold, and while it doesn’t have to meet every single one, the most important to me is that a book has to make me think.

To put it simply, I want a book that is fun to read, but also can stomp on my heart a little, and make me think about what’s happening in the world around me.

HOW BLOGGING HAS IMPACTED OUTGROWING AUTHORS

It’s funny to be honest, Blood of Olympus marked the decline of Riordan in my mind, and it’s actually the first Riordan book I reviewed on my blog. All the others I haven’t enjoyed are also ones that have been reviewed via blogging.

One word for Riordan’s writing style/books is fun. With blogging, when I’m taking that “fun” and putting it under microscope, it highly lacks in other departments, especially in his latest installments. I don’t believe that blogging has made me cynical, but rather it’s forced me to put what I’m reading in perspective. It’s almost like writing a review for a book by a certain author is answering your own question of whether this author is truly right for you or not.


Now it’s your turn! What’s an author that you believe you’ve outgrown as a reader? Have you found an impact on the authors you enjoy that came from blogging? Do you believe it’s possible for an author to outgrow you? Let me know down in the comments, I’d love to hear you opinion.

11 thoughts on “Outgrowing Authors And All That Jazz | Tea Time Talk

  1. This is definitely an interesting topic. I never read any Riordan books, but I think a comparable series for me would be the Warriors books by Erin Hunter. I LOVED them in middle school, but looking back on them now, I know I wouldn’t even come close to enjoying them the same way.

    I think I just look for more complexity in a story nowadays. ☺ Though, I do think authors like Erin Hunter or Rick Riordan can definitely get stuck in a niche when they find their popularity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can an author decline in their writing? YES. Especially when wild success gives them lowered standards at the publishing house. (I present John Flanagan, Sarah J. Maas, and Christopher Paolini as Exhbits A, B, and C, all of whom I feel I outgrew.) For me, blogging and reviewing really made me examine what made me like books more and acknowledge the things I found wrong with them. It made me aware of how some books I liked actually weren’t that great, but had certain themes or characters that resonated with me. Truly, it made me a snob in some ways, but also taught me to be more aware. I liked the outcome, ultimately. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not really answering your questions here as I’ve never been one to follow authors just books but on a related note. I still enjoy all of the series I read when I was young. I haven’t outgrown my enjoyment of any of them but at the same time I definitely come across books now that I know I would have loved as a kid but don’t enjoy reading anywhere near as much/at all. I think reading tastes change but worlds that we’ve already enjoyed will always have that same enjoyment.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tamora Pierce was my absolute favourite author for a time, but I now have to be in a very specific mood to read her books. I wouldn’t say that I outgrew her (I still love Keladry, and The Circle Opens series, particularly), but I found myself wanting more from her – greater depth and complexity, I think. I remain very fond of her, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think if an author sticks to a particular genre and/or a particular audience, it is definitely possible to outgrow their writing. For me, it wasn’t blogging that highlighted that so much rather, just me getting physically older and having my perspectives change.

    Meg Cabot is an author I outgrew. I adored her novels as a young teen but as I got older, I got bored with her YA titles. (Now that might lead into a discussion about the evolution of YA as a whole because it sure has changed from when I was an actual teenager!). So in this case, I think I literally outgrew her YA titles because I got older. But I decided to pass on one of her adult titles the other day because the trope didn’t appeal to me.

    I feel that some authors have a particular formula to their novels. Jennifer L Armentrout is a perfect example. Even if her supernatural/paranormal elements change (ex. gargoyles, aliens, etc), she pretty much writes the same male character every.single.time. If you read enough of their books, you start to see the patterns and that means the book loses some of the charm or the element of surprise for a seasoned reader.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I think authors need to keep things fresh to keep their long term readers interested. Writing the same story with slightly new characters definitely is not interesting. A discuss of the evolution of YA would be so cool! Thanks for your contributions 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have long been a Riordan fan; it’s one of the series that got me into reading as a kid, and I still love it even though I’m (technically) an adult now. I loved the Kane Chronicles and I adored Trials of Apollo. But I have noticed my intrest in his books declining as of late. Years ago I would beg my mom to buy me the latest Riordan book the day it was released, but I haven’t even been able to push myself to read the Magnus Chase books. I don’t know if I’ve outgrown them per say, because I still like his writing style and sense of humor. Maybe it’s the sheer amount of content he’s putting out; it’s hard to keep up with.

    Can one outgrow an author? Absolutely. There are plenty of books and authors I don’t read anymore because I outgrew them and they no longer held my interest. I still like those books that I read as a kid, but now my tastes have changed, just like how I used to like green beans as a baby but now I think they’re gross.

    Can an author decline in their writing? Depends on the author, and I think it’s up to them to decide whenever they sit down at the laptop, to ask themselves, “Am I going to try and make something greater than last time?” As a writer myself, I try to remember this, to always strive for more and not become stagnant, because it’s a slippery slope from there.

    And I think you could be outgrowing Riordan’s books. Does that make me a less mature reader if I do like it? No. It just means that we have different tastes. Perhaps the reason you still like PJO is because it has those nostalgic memories attached to them from when you first read them when you were younger. That’s part of why PJO will always be my favorite Rick Riordan series πŸ™‚

    Can you tell I’ve thought a lot about this? XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this comment, oh my! You definitely made a lot of good points, and I can totally relate to begging my mom to get me the new Riordan book. And yet, I can’t seem to push myself to read his Magnus Chase series either. I did read the FIRST one, and it was okay, but it didn’t have that hook that drags you into a series. He totally does put a lot of content out know, sometimes I’m in the store and I see a new Riordan book and I have no idea when it was published. I think “Am I going to try to make something greater than last time?” is a FANTASTIC question to ask yourself as an author, because that’s what helps improve your skills. It’s like anything in life, you gotta fight for it! I definitely don’t think that reading Riordan’s books now makes a reader any less mature or competent, rather that they seek different things from a book.
      And yes indeed, PJO will always hold a special place in many book geek’s hearts, I believe!
      Totally random add on, but I thought it was so funny that you loved green beans as a kid but hate them now. Most of the time it’s the other way around!
      Thank you for this awesome comment, and have an amazing day! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

