Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them | Movie Talk

fbawtft-talk

On the day after opening night, my mom and I went off to go see Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, and let me tell you. It was an amazing experience. Basically, I loved the entire movie and everything about it, the plot, the magic, the characters, the humor. It was so good, and I’m probably going to end up seeing it in theaters again.

If you aren’t aware of FBAWTFT (longest title ever though), it is a new movie written by J.K. Rowling that follows the cutest little wizard ever, Newt Scamander, as he travels through 1926 New York city. The basic plot of the movie can be summed up with this.

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-6

Just know that Newt Scamander has this wonderful and mysterious case, full of magical creatures that he takes care of. His goal in life is to show the wizarding world that these beasts are not necessarily dangerous, and they should be treated with care.

There’s lots of new magic mythology put forward in this first installment of the new series, and it’s so very wonderful for a Harry Potter fan like myself. It’s also amazing to experience magic in a new country, even though Newt is from the UK himself (as he was kicked out of Hogwarts). Plus he’s a Hufflepuff! Puff pride.

If you have not seen the movie… what are you waiting for? It’s so amazing, plus it definitely has that Harry Potter charm that we all know and love. This movie is by far one of my new favorite movies of (likely) all time. I’m not kidding, so go see it!

I’m about to jump into a spoiler-y section that is full of things that you do not want to know if you haven’t seen the movie.

Discussion starts here so leave and come back later once you’ve seen the movie!

Okay, let me begin by saying that I’m officially 100% okay with my Hufflepuff status now! I love Newt Scamander so much. So very much. Actually, I love Eddie Redmayne and Newt Scamander with all of my heart, so I’m very happy.

Newt is such a fantastic protagonist. He emits his “Hufflepuff-ness” so well, and he’s such an easy character to fall in love with. He also has great chemistry with the rest of the crew, especially Jacob and Tina.

Speaking of Jacob, I adore the fact that a no-maj was a main character! I think he added so much to the story, and when Queenie told him that he was a part of their world now, I nearly melted with happiness. Of course I was heartbroken when he had to go out in the memory rain, but his bakery creations were shaped like the beasts! There’s hope!

Tina and Queenie were also super fun characters. Out of the duo, I did like Tina a bit better simply because her character was fleshed out more than Queenie, and I could relate to Tina’s wish to please everyone. For me, Queenie fell a bit flat. Although, she definitely has so much potential and I’m excited to see where her character goes. I hope we dive more into her legilimency, as it’s interesting that she can’t seem to turn it off, when the books/movies have always shown that Snape (the other legilimens we know off besides Voldemort) had to use a spell.

I also loved Newt’s case and the hunt for the escaped beasts. To put it simply, it was so magical. When Newt and Jacob first explore the case and we just go around taking care of the animals, that was the moment where the Harry Potter happy vibes kicked in. I would totally watch a two hour movie of just learning about all the different animals/beasts Newt carries around with him.

Speaking of the beasts, my favorite scenes were the crew (Tina, Newt, Queenie, and Jacob) trying to recapture the escaped beasts. Especially all the times they were trying to track down the Niffler. I could not stop laughing at that cute little Niffler! Both the bank and the jewelry store scenes were absolutely perfect. Then of course, the scene at the zoo with the weird rhino thing (I don’t know it’s name) wasΒ so hilarious. Then there was the Demiguise and the Occamy, and of course Newt has a beast that can turn invisible. Duh.

However, the most intriguing part of the whole movie was this concept about the obscurials. Basically, an obscurus forms when a young wizard suppresses their magic for a long period of time. It’s a bit like a parasite that takes over the host (aka the wizard) and forms the obscurial, which can be extremely dangerous and destructive. They typically don’t live past the age of 10, which leads us to Credence.

Credence was obviously past 10 years old, so how did he survive for so long? Did he care and nurture for the obscurus, because it was likely his only companion? I want to know more about Credence and his history, which with it being a movie series instead of a book series is unlikely.

Then there’s also Percival Graves (who is not actually Graves but Grindelwald!) who is obsessed with these obscurials. Pretty understandable, because if he can control these, he can probably destroy not only the MACUSA, but the wizarding world. I knew that something was up with Graves the minute he gave Credence the Deathly Hallows necklace. I swear I was having a freak out moment in the theater because the Deathly Hallows, according to Xenophilius Lovegood is Grindelwald’s symbol!

Although, totally disappointed with Depp as Grindelwald in the end. He’s supposed to be charming and handsome, and to be honest… he looked a bit like a pedophile. Depp is too old for the role now, because Grindelwald is young in 1926!

Overall, I absolutely adored the movie, if you haven’t figured that out by now. I think it was a fantastic reintroduction into the wizarding world, and a very solid first movie in a series of them. I just hope we go more into the mythology of the obscurials and that Newt Scamander stays the protagonists for all of them.

 

9 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them | Movie Talk

  1. I’m going to see it for the second time this evening, and there may even be a third viewing on the horizon (although I will leave it a couple of weeks!). So. Very. Thrilled. With all of it. Although, I agree with you re Depp: I always imagined Grindelwald as being intensely charismatic, and instead we got pale and funny looking. Although I was intrigued by his exchange with Newt. Am desperate to find out more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked the movie but like you was mad at depp being cast. Would have been awesome if Jamie Campbell bower could have played him again.
    Is it me or in that scene where he hands over the necklace in the dark ally, isn’t it depp speaking and not Farrell?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HUFFLEPUFF HUG!! I’m also super pleased that Newt is a Puff, his puffyness was just so precious! I was wondering about Queenie and her legilimance too, even Voldemort had to use a spell for himself so she must be very powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

