Reading Goals for the New Year | Top 5 Wednesday

top-5-wednesday-1_4

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. You find out more about T5W and the weekly topics on the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is all about our goals for 2017. They can be related to anything you wish, but since I have already done my blogging goals, I figured I’d share some reading goals with you all!

These do not need to be reading goals specifically, they can be any goals you want to talk about. Reading goals, blog/channel/instagram goals, personal goals…anything!

Read, read, read- I do hope this one is rather self explanatory. During 2017, I simply want to read more.

read-the-book
A little motivation for me and you

Read at least 50 books- Hooray for Goodreads! This year, I decided to set my reading challenge for a nice, easy, 50 books. I do believe that I can accomplish this, since it’s about one book a week. If I can read even more than that, I’m a fan.

Push my reading comfort zone- I’d like to read more books that fall outside my “comfort zone”. I want to read books that deal with sensitive topics that I may know very little about, or aren’t the most comfortable with.

Read more diverse books (!!)- This definitely ties in with pushing my comfort zone, but I would like to explicitly read more diverse books. I have a small list of books that have been recommended to me, but please let me know what your favorite diverse books are!

Take notes while reading- To have more concise, well-rounded, and detailed book reviews, I need to start actually taking notes while I read. This will definitely be easier on e-books, but here’s to trying something new in the new year!

14 thoughts on “Reading Goals for the New Year | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. I like the idea of reading outside of your comfort zone. Lately, I’ve been sticking to what I know I like but I want to change that a bit this year. YA Contemporaries are so hit and miss for me but there seems to be some great ones that were recently released so hopefully I can read those.

    All the best for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same with contemporaries, hopefully there’s more hits than misses this year! Yeah, I’m hoping to branch out to more historical fiction, possibly some memoirs, who knows. Just make fantasy slightly less dominant in my reading!
      All the best for you as well. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely need to make notes when I read but I always forget to because well. I’m reading. Haha.
    And branching out when you find a good book in another genre is great. I only tend to read a handful outside fantasy/scifi every year but I do try.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are definitely some great goals 😀 I’d love to push my comfort zones as well and to read more diverse books. I used to take notes a couple of months ago, but I stopped when I got really busy with school. But it’s such a useful practice! I’ll definitely try to start doing it again. Good luck with achieving all your goals! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

