Blood For Blood by Ryan Graudin | Book Review

blood-for-bloogAuthor: Ryan Graudin

Series: Wolf by Wolf #2

Genre: YA Historical Fiction/Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 481

Rating: ★★★★★

“Hitler, Himmler, and Geyer- they did not make her.

They would not unmake her either.

“But Yael would try with everything that was in her- sunshine and suffering, stolen lifetimes and death at her wing tips- to destroy them.”

BLURB (GOODREADS)

For the resistance in the Third Reich, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun. Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against Hitler’s army, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

But in the midst of the chaos, Yael’s past and future collide when she comes face to face with a ghost from her past, and a spark with a fellow rider begins to grow into something more. Dark secrets reveal dark truths and one question hangs over them all—how far can you go for the ones you love?


THOUGHTS

You all know my recent love for Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin, so of course I had to order the sequel as soon as I finished it! Let me just tell you, Blood for Blood is phenomenal. It’s such an improvement on Wolf by Wolf, even though that book blew me away.

It’s been almost two weeks since I finished the book, but I am still heartbroken and constantly thinking of the story. My favorite part in the previous book was the motorcycle race, and while there’s no race is Blood for Blood,  you get to experience the true horrors of the war and explore the pasts of our characters.

Yael will forever be one of my favorite protagonists. She is such a complex character, and I never get tired of reading from her perspective. It was so wonderful to read about some genuine Yael interactions this book, as she isn’t masquerading as someone else. Luka stole my heart in this book. He truly did, and now I don’t know why every “bad boy” character type can’t evolve into the wonders that is Luka. He becomes so open about his past, exposing his true self to Yael which created some powerful and emotional scenes. Basically I adore Yael and Luka, and their romance was SO perfect. I highly enjoyed the fact that it wasn’t the main story line, rather something that naturally evolved.

I might as well mention the other main character, Felix. I don’t like Felix… like at all. Don’t get me wrong, his character is so complex and well created, but his personality sucks, and the steps he took to achieve his OWN personal goals suck. I didn’t feel bad for him in the end at all.

One of the biggest differences between Blood for Blood and it’s predecessor is the multiple POVs. Most of the time, we’re in Yael’s POV, but it also switches between Luka and Felix quite often, with a few other random perspectives thrown in.  I was always able to tell whose perspective I was reading, and the short chapters made way for smooth transitions.

Once again, this book had some of the most enchanting and lyric writing styles I’ve read in a while. It’s a no-hold-back, brutally honest writing style full of beautiful metaphors and descriptions that easily suck you in. I absolutely adore Graduin’s prose, and how it conveys such a dark, yet bright tone.

I’m not going to talk too much about the plot as that reveals a bunch of spoilers from the very end of Wolf by Wolf and most of this book. However, what I can tell you is that the plot is extremely captivating, and full of surprising (and sometimes heart shattering) twists. I read this entire book in a little under two days, all 481 pages of it! That shows how good both the plot and character development is.

Overall, I love, LOVE this book and this series. It’s full of so much action, fantastic historical fiction elements, amazing characters and interactions between them, and is generally one of the better books I’ve read in a while. If you haven’t read Blood for Blood yet, go go go! If you have yet to pick up Wolf by Wolf here’s a link to my review which explains why you should totally read it.

7 thoughts on “Blood For Blood by Ryan Graudin | Book Review

Leave a Reply

