Book Tropes I’m Sick Of | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday 2_8.png

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. You find out more about T5W and the weekly topics on the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is all about bookish tropes that I’m tired of seeing everywhere. I love this topic, so let’s get into it.

What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out! 

Romance that doesn’t fit- This one encompasses all of the annoying love tropes that I hate. I don’t care for insta-love. I don’t want to read NA erotica in my YA fantasy, if I want that, I’ll read that genre. I also have been really bothered by relationships with an inappropriate age gap, like Vampire Academy, and Max and Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door. Simply put, none of these fit in what I wanted to actually read.

Faces on books- Dear publishers, I’m sure we’ve had this discussion before. Faces on books are a very hard thing to pull off. To be totally honest, you miss the mark a lot. I think it’s better for all our bookshelves if you stop trying. Love, bookworms.

Unnecessary plot diversions- I always appreciate a good character/plot development. However, when there are extended scenes of characters doing things that add NOTHING to the book as a whole, it bores the crap out of me. Even if it doesn’t make sense until the very end, just wrap it up nicely!

All female friendships are fake- You know, I’m not going to deny that girls can be petty with each other, but we’re not all constantly back stabbing each other. Some of us are actually pretty good friends. I know, shocker! I want to see less misrepresented female friendships! Where’s my girl power at?

Stupidly thin pages- If you didn’t know, I am a terribly clumsy person. I drop things, I break beakers in chem class, I trip on air, and everything in between. I also get way too excited while reading sometimes, and if you keep printing books on the SUPER thin pages… I will rip them on accident. Then I’m sad, and that’s no fun.

13 thoughts on “Book Tropes I’m Sick Of | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. OMG I had the same issue with Vampire Academy and the romance. It was just so wrong and I ultimately quit the books because it made me uncomfortable. I personally like books with faces loool, I like to read the description of the main character and then flip back to see if its accurate (usually a no). But I agree, its hard to pull off. And yes to female friendships! They’re almost always superficial. Even though I did not like the Vampire Academy romance I DID love the friendship between Lisa and Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to agree with these haha. I despise romances that don’t fit, especially ones with inappropriate age gaps. It’s just so uncomfortable to read. And dear lord, faces on books. Probably the WORST thing out there. They just mess up how I would imagine the characters to look like, tbh :/ And it bothers me, too, that some authors dont’ see the power of female friendships. Not all of them are fake 😦 Great list, McKenzie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely the female friendships! I want ladies supporting ladies, damn it! Why is it always with the bitching and back-stabbing? of course I don’t deny it happens, but it’s disproportionately represented in fiction. 😦 I’m always so pleasantly surprised when I come across a book where the girls actually treat each other decently.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

