A Peak Into My Bullet Journal | BuJo Time

bullet journal

Hey all, and welcome to a new mini series! I have recently jumped aboard the Bullet Journal train, and I am falling completely in love with it. If you aren’t aware of what a Bullet Journal is, there is an official website you can check out for loads of information. Basically, it’s a type of planner that you can adapt to perfectly fit your own lifestyle. That’s the wonderful thing about Bullet Journals, and why I decided to ditch my old planners and make my own.

Today, I wanted to take you all on a little journey through my very first journal. It’s definitely not perfect, but neither am I, so it fits. I did take a lot of inspiration from other journals and Pinterest, but I’m learning to branch out with my own style.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetBefore we get started with the actual journal, let’s talk about the supplies that I use. For the journal itself, I am using the Leuchtturm1917 Medium Sized A5 Hardcover Notebook, which you can find on Amazon here. I keep all my supplies in this adorable pencil box from a local store called Fireworks. The main pens I use to write are the Sakura Pigma Micron pens in sizes 05, 01, and occasionally 005 all in black (found in any office supply store or Amazon). For decoration I use the Zig Memory System Writer Dual-Tip Markers because these don’t bleed through the pages, and there are so many colors available to use. I also keep a ruler, pencil, and eraser in the case to make everything look nice and pretty.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetThe first page in my journal was inspiration from Pinterest, and it’s a welcome page. Even though I started this journal in March, I still wanted to welcome the new year. It’s relatively simple, but that’s the kind of style I love the best. I was initially just going to do the circle with the “hello 2017” inside of it, but the whole thing looked a little too plain to me. So, I added this cute dandelion drawing to make things more interesting.

Next, we open up to my first double page spread which is my overview of the entire year. I decided to make the months small and fill the middle with some of my favorite events for each month. This is so I keep coming back to look at this page, and it doesn’t turn into something I never even look at.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetI think it turned out pretty cute, and if you can’t read it very well, the quote going through the middle of the spread says, “awesome things I’ve done”. I can’t wait to see what this page looks like at the end of the year. Even if I have to end up moving onto another journal, I think I’ll keep coming back to this one and filling it out. I have such a terrible memory, so this is the perfect way to keep track of things for me.

The rest of my journal so far is composed of all double spreads, and I have a few more I’d like to share! After the yearly view, there is my first monthly spread, for March.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

This one is definitely more extravagant compared to the previous spreads, but I love how it turned out. The washi tape I ordered in the mail finally came when I was doing all of the next spreads, so I might’ve gone a little crazy. The spread is composed of a calendar where I write down important date for school and/or blogging, a March goals section, along with tasks and notes sections. I also decided to include a tracker in some extra space, but I don’t like using it very much, so I don’t think I’ll be including one in April’s spread.

After the monthly spread, I have a double page area for some journaling, which I won’t be sharing as that’s my private brain dump area. However, I like having a space in my planner to also journal when needed, and I printed out some nice quotes from Pinterest to go in the spread. I also have a currently empty spread where my favorite quotes from the book I’m currently reading will go once I’ve finished it. Perhaps I’ll share that in my review!

The final things that are currently in my journal are two weekly spreads. I tried out two completely different styles of spreads, and while I like them both I have to keep experimenting.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

This was the first one I did, and I do like how it turned out! Although I goofed up pretty bad on the date flags, I accidentally started the week with Monday by writing “MON” above the date (I meant to start with Sunday). It wasn’t until I started filling out my homework due dates that I realized my mistake. Whoops. I tried having all the days of the week on one side, and split the second page into my different classes and other things, and filled out assignments there. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this because I couldn’t easily tell what assignments where due on what day, however I did like separating my classes into different sections.

Processed with VSCO with s2 presetI learned from my mistakes next week, and tried out spreading the days between both pages. I also properly labeled the days of the week! I went with a cool tone blue theme to help reduce my potential stress from finals. I ADORE this spread, and just love looking at it. Those flower stickers were perfect to put in this spread, and I creatively used one of them to cover up a mistake. When you bullet journal, I definitely recommend doing everything in pencil first, and then tracing in pen. If I didn’t do this, I’d mess up even more than I already do. (PS. The quote at the bottom is from Neil Gaiman and says, “What do stars do? They shine.”)

divider

So, that’s what I have so far in my bullet journal! Hopefully you all enjoyed this post, and I’m sorry that it was so image heavy. Do any of you all have a bullet journal? What’s your favorite aspect of it? What’s your favorite and least favorite type of page to design?

29 thoughts on “A Peak Into My Bullet Journal | BuJo Time

  1. Your BuJo looks so pretty.I have been trying to try to build one but I seem to forget to fill it up πŸ˜‚πŸ˜› Ah well,I probably will try next year

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, your bullet journal is GORGEOUS! I keep a regular journal that I write a lot in but it doesn’t look nearly as pretty. I also use that kind of notebook, but mine has lines it it. Great post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just started bullet journaling this month too! Yours looks gorgeous – mine is a bit plain at the moment as I’m trying to get used to the process πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How fun! I’m definitely still getting used to the process as well, but it’s just so much fun to do! My little hack to spice up things that look a little plain are stickers, and they’re easy to use. Good luck on the rest of your journal! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bullet journals are amazing! And yours is so CUTE! So artistic πŸ˜€ I really like your welcome page. The dandelion design is wonderful. I was really thinking of bullet journaling myself a while back but my creativity needs to really step up its game lol. Loved this post! Thanks for sharing this, McKenzie! You’re really inspiring to make my own!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks! I didn’t think my creativity level was high enough for something like a bullet journal, but I think having the journal itself encourages me to be a little artsy. Oh my gosh, totally make your own! That would be sweet 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you! It was definitely difficult for me at first, but then I kind of went in with an “oh well” attitude. I love for things to be neat, and I actually think making mistakes is helping me relax. Oh no worries, I need to catch up in my journal also! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

