A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab | Book Review

A Conjuring of LightAuthor: V.E. Schwab

Series: Shades of Magic #3

Genre: YA/Adult Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 624

Rating: ★★★★★

“Love and loss,” he said, “are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.”  

BLURB (GOODREADS)

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

dividerTHOUGHTS

I cannot even begin to form my feelings for this book into proper sentences. It was by far the darkest, grittiest, hilarious, and absolutely WONDERFUL Shades of Magic book yet. I couldn’t have asked for more in a conclusion to a series, and if you have yet to pick up the Shades of Magic series… go pick it up now.

We need to start out by discussing how V.E. Schwab writes the best characters in the entire world. They’re fleshed out, morally complex, and have way too much fun stabbing people (that would be miss Delilah Bard). This series may have started out with Kell as the protagonist, but it has evolved to so much more. I’ve grown to love and care for all of the characters, and the line between lead character and side character have blurred, which is so awesome.

Let’s discuss all of our favorite characters, shall we? Kell, as per usual is overly protective and a bit too stubborn, but you can’t help but fall in love with him. Rhy spends the majority of the book struggling to adapt with his situation, but he also has so much phenomenal character growth. He grows into almost a new character, while still maintaining what makes him Rhy. Alucard is sassy, ridiculously brave, and joy to read. Along with Rhy, Alucard also goes through an insane amount of development because of the fears he has to face in this book. Lila is still one of my all time favorite characters, and I fell in love with her even more throughout this story because of how badass she is. Then we have Holland, who for the first we actually get to know as Holland. Basically, I adored his character and he’s a precious little cinnamon roll who must be protected at all costs.

There is never a dull moment in the plot, as it picks off immediately from the ending of AGOS. The fight against Osaron is dark, gritty, and will keep you on the edge of your seat. A Conjuring of Light is by far the darkest story in the series, which led to the perfect tone for the conclusion. You could feel the heightened emotions, and the terror that has swept across the city. Osaron is the type of villain that you love to hate, and trust me… It’s pretty easy to hate him. Every moment in the story felt so emotionally raw and powerful, and it killed me in the best possible way.

Similar to the other books in the series, the writing is absolutely on point. Schwab is an extremely talented writer, and her ability has blown me away with this series (especially this book). The writing style draws you in with cleverly placed metaphors and descriptions and never lets go. It’s easy to let yourself get lost in her beautifully crafted world, and I highly recommend that you let yourself.

Speaking of the world, the world building once again was perfect. When I met V.E. Schwab on her ACOL tour, she mentioned how she likes to slowly unveil the world bit by bit throughout the series. This method worked perfect for the Shades of Magic series. Each book we get more and more information on the world(s) she’s built, and it never feels overwhelming. The information is always perfectly placed, and the expansion pace feels natural. Long story short, I ADORE this world, and wish I could travel to Red London.

Overall, A Conjuring of Light is everything I could’ve wanted in a series conclusion and more. Filled with fantastic characters, enchanting writing, and on point world development, the Shades of Magic series is one that you won’t want to miss out on. This series has quickly pushed its way onto my favorites, and if you have yet to pick it up… I don’t know what you’re doing. I will now always recommend this series to everyone I know.

Anoshe

9 thoughts on “A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab | Book Review

  1. Wonderful review! I haven’t got around to reading this yet — in fact, I haven’t even read AGOS. I liked ADSOM, but for some reason I don’t feel so motivated?! Especially if, as you said, there’s great character development and beautiful writing!
    BUT, this review motivates me. I’ve heard so many great things about it and everyone I know loved the ending for it. Maybe it’s finally time I get my things together and read it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much! I actually wasn’t all that motivated to read AGOS either after I finished ADSOM, and I think it has to due with the lack of a cliffhanger. It’s definitely worth it though (especially if you love Lila)! The series definitely gets better each book, and I hope you enjoy it. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review!! I just finished this book a few days ago, and I loved it as well. I did not expect to love Holland so much, I loved that we got to see his backstory. The world(s) of these books are so easy to fall into and get lost in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So like I skipped the majority of this post because I FINISHED ADSOM LIKE TWO WEEKS AGO AND I NEED AGOS BUT IT’S CHECKED OUT AT THE LIBRARY AND I’M SO FRUSTRATED AND I NEED IT RIGHT NOW AND AAAGGGHHHHHHHHHH. (Although ADSOM was quite slow lol. But I read an excerpt of AGOS and now I need to know what happens??? 😄 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s totally okay 😂 ughhh and how annoying it’s always checked out! Have you reserved it for when it comes back in? And AGOS is definitely not slow when compared to ADSOM and ACOL is even faster paced! Hope you get soon! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

