Future Classic Books | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday 3_29

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. You find out more about T5W and the weekly topics on the Goodreads group here.

I think this week’s topic is great, because it lets us (the bookworms) dream of the future. That’s right, we’re discussing books that I believe will one day be considered a classic. Although, I am curious what actually classifies a book as a “classic”. Today, I’ll be going with the idea of books that I hope everyone reads in the future. All of the books on my list have impacted me in some way personally, or impacted someone I know.

Let us know the books you think will be considered classics one day!

T5W List(1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins- Upon reading the topic, this was the first book that popped into my mind. Not only is the whole series highly entertaining, but the books portray such a destroyed and torn apart world that could potentially be our future. It depicts so many powerful messages, and shows how powerful a little love and trust can be.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys- If you already didn’t know, I am absolutely obsessed with Miss Sepetys and her books. Everyone of them is phenomenal, but her debut is a book I’ll never forget. Sepetys writes historical fiction stories of tragic events that have been forgotten about with the passage of time. This book tells the story of Nazi occupation in Lithuania and the mass deportations. It’s emotionally raw, beautiful, and I hope it’s never forgotten about.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak- Honestly, in my mind this book is already considered a classic. I think that’s part of the reason why I put off reading it for so long, because I don’t typically enjoy classics. However, this book is fantastic. If any story can withstand the test of time, it’s this one.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein- To be totally honest with you all, I haven’t actually read this book. However, several of my friends have read this for school (reading for school itself just screams CLASSIC to me), and fell in love with it. They said it was extremely powerful, and they’re glad that they read it. You can bet I want to read this soon!

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi- I read this graphic novel a few years ago for an English and Lit class, and highly enjoyed it (wasn’t the biggest fan of grunt work that came with the unit, but the book- yes). This book is the experience that author had growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. It tells the story of a young girl fighting for her political and personal freedom, her family and friends, and even her own life. It’s devastating, beautiful, and a gift to the reading world.

16 thoughts on “Future Classic Books | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. Definitely agree with you on Hunger Games! That book felt like a groundbreaking introduction to the dystopian genre. It’s a book with some really great messages and I think it definitely has the potential to be read in classrooms sometime in the near future!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It definitely kicked off that craze for sure. And if it didn’t then it could have been the Maze Runner or Divergent. Either way, I think it’d be excellent source material in schools nowadays 😀 It’s actually used in a few of my college classes!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag is such a great idea! I love the idea of weekly shared content between different bloggers. It’s so much fun to poke around and see what other people think on the same topic and if you share ideas with people. I’m so glad I found this here! I can’t wait to start this on my own blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh, you should definitely read The Book Thief! Although, have some tissues on standby lol. Six of Crows definitely has a chance, but I agree that it doesn’t exactly scream classic. I bet all the “cool” lit teachers would assign it for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

