Absolute Favorite LGBTQ+ Books! | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday 4_19

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. You can find out more about T5W and the weekly topics on the Goodreads group here.

This week, we’re talking about our favorite LGBTQ+ books. I’m so excited for this topic because it’s a great way to spread the love in the bookish community, and everyone gets to find awesome new books in the genre. So, let’s jump into the books!

Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

T5W List(1)

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli- I’m sure this book is on many people’s list for this week, but I can’t help but include it. Simon is one of the most fleshed out and well developed contemporary novels that I’ve read (and I am not a big contemporary person), and is full of absolutely wonderful characters. I love that it focused on not just Simon and Blue’s relationship, but Simon’s relationships with others in his life.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo- One of the reasons I love seeing LGBTQ+ representation in fantasy is because (for the most part) it isn’t the central aspect. Of course, it is so wonderful to see books that highlight LGBTQ+ people, but I love when it’s treated like a perfectly normal aspect of life. The romance between Wylan and Jesper will forever be one of my favorite OTPs, and you need to read this series if you haven’t already.

For Today I Am A Boy by Kim Fu- I’ve talked about this book a lot on my blog recently, and I’m so happy about that. This is actually the only book that I’ve read that has transgender representation (I definitely want to read more, if you know some- let me know in the comments)! It follows the story of a Chinese boy through his childhood to adulthood and her journey of transitioning into a woman. It’s a emotionally powerful book that I highly recommend.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab- This book has earned a spot on the list for the same reasons as Crooked Kingdom. The fact that the romance between Rhy and Alucard is treated just the same as any other fantasy book warms my heart. It’s not the main romance of the book, but it’s just as fleshed out.

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins- I’m not going to lie, this isn’t my favorite book in the entire world, but it’s a book that really pushed my understanding of LGBTQ+ representation in novels. Most of what I read is sweet romances (that are accepted by the other characters) between two characters. This is definitely not that. It’s about a young girl trying to discover her sexuality while growing up in a homophobic and abusive household. The story that it delivers is heartbreaking, but worth the read.

22 thoughts on “Absolute Favorite LGBTQ+ Books! | Top 5 Wednesday

      1. I’ve only read the first two books in the Grisha trilogy and I found it okay. Enjoyable enough. I’ve heard SoC is better than Grisha trilogy though, is that true? 😊 I’ll definitely check both out!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ll have to read some of these on your list, but I’ve read Crooked Kingdom and I just finished A Conjuring of Light, so I’ll definitely have to agree with those. Jesper and Wylan are, by far, one of my LGBTQ+ favorite pairings (and favorite couples in general) in YA. The way their romance was so well-developed in how it was was just another normal aspect of that world. The same goes for Rhys and Alucard. Their romance was treated so well. Fantastic picks! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing these, I’ve been looking for some LGBT reads for a while. They sound great, so definitely going to give them a read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

