Month In Review | April 2017 AKA The Month I Disappeared

April.pngHello all, and happy May! I can’t believe it’s already May, but I’m super pumped for it to start getting warmer outside. Even though I had a pretty chill April in my personal life, I still managed to disappear a bit from the blogosphere. No worries though! I have no intention of leaving any time soon.

BOOKS

This month, I did manage to read five whole books, even though three of them I finished in the last few days of the month. Also, technically I finished Geekerella on May 1st, but it was around 12:30 AM, so I’m counting it in April. This month, I’ll be summing up the book in three words and posting my reviews in another section.

April Books.png

  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas | ★★★★★ | Powerful, gripping, insightful
  • Scythe by Neal Shusterman | ★★★★☆ | Unique, fun, flamethrowers
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern | ★★★★★ | Beautiful, enchanting, magical
  • Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | ★★★☆☆ | PIRATES, sass, adventures
  • Geekerella by Ashley Poston | ★★★★★ | Geek heaven, heartwarming

divider

BLOGGING

Yikes, April once again was not the best blogging month. I’ve seemed to develop this pattern of not posting in the Spring months very much. However, I’m determined to change this!

REVIEWS

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY

BOOK TAG SUNDAY

OTHER

Sadly, I didn’t get up any Tea Time Talk posts last month, although I’ve been brainstorming a bunch of ideas recently and wrote them down in my BuJo. Also, if you all would like to see a bullet journal update, just let me know! I’d love to do one.

For my monthly wrap ups, I’d also like to include a section of my favorite posts from you all for the month. Unfortunately, I wasn’t active enough in April to do this, but I’m going to try my best during May!

divider

LIFE

Alright, part of the reason why I wasn’t as active on my blog last month was the fact that I had some pretty cool (and crazy) things going on in my life. In the beginning of April, the wind ensemble at my high school had a chance to travel to New York City and perform in Carnegie Hall. This was an absolutely amazing experience, because it is so difficult to get to play in Carnegie.

I’ve never been to New York before this trip, and I fell in love with the city. The vibe and the whole atmosphere is quite different from what I’m used to, which was good exposure. Although, when people tell you that New Yorkers are mean, they aren’t kidding.

On a completely different note, I started my final quarter at school, and I’ll be graduating high school (and college with my associates degree) in just over a month. I also confirmed my enrollment to university, so things are going to changing for me soon. I’m super pumped for this new stage in my life, and you may just see some university related posts coming up in the Fall…

divider

How was you month? An exciting books that you read or obtained? Have you ever been to NYC? Let me know, I love talking with you all!

30 thoughts on “Month In Review | April 2017 AKA The Month I Disappeared

  1. I completely disappeared from blogging in April too, because of (school) break. Feels good to be back haha! I also read Scyche, and I finished it in one day! I had to read Shusterman’s other book, the schwa was here, for a school thing, and despised it so much I was afraid to read scythe despite the good things people were telling me about it. Did you know Universal and Blue Grass Films are making it into a movie?! I’m super excited about that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I was on break from school too, but my NY trip was with my school band, so we went over break. I read Scythe in one sitting one the plane! It’s super addicting. I want to read some of his other works as well, and I’m SO pumped for the sequel of Scythe (I believe it’s called Thunderhead). They’re making a movie?? That’s going to be sick! I can’t wait to see the utopian type world they create.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooo dude i wanna read Scythe and Night Circus SOO BADLY. Sounds like you’ve been busy. Honestly, same. I was only able to read 4 books in April, which is SO SAD because UGH. But yea i feels. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Scythe was super fun! As soon as I learned about the synopsis, I was like “I NEED IT” and it definitely lived up to my expectations. I also can’t recommend The Night Circus enough now. Four books is still a solid amount! I feel about wanting to read more though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. First, you had such a great reading month! I am especially glad that you enjoyed The Night Circus and Geekerella because they are faves of mine as well. And CARNEGIE HALL!!?!?!? SO EXCITING!!!! You are going to rock this upcoming phase of your life!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh YAY! That’s a cool feeling to know that someone is thinking of you when they read a book that you love and YES! Geekerella was so awesome. I felt like watching the Cinderella Story movies again hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow congratulations for playing at carnegie hall! 😃

    I recently started the night circus and I’m really enjoying it too, so I look forward to your review! And the rest of the books you read all sound so good but are still sat on my tbr 😩

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved Scythe! I’m glad you thought it was good too. 🙂 And AGH I REALLY NEED TO READ THE NIGHT CIRCUS. (So that was the book I was going to check out from my school library today… 😄 ) And omg, Carnegie Hall??? That’s AMAZING. I’ve actually been to NYC — last summer, for a dance thing. I got to see some Broadway shows, the Rockettes, and learn some choreography from Broadway shows (like Matilda). It was awesome! And haha, I didn’t interact that much with the New Yorkers, so I don’t know if they’re mean or not. 😛 YAY FOR UNIVERSITIES!!! Also, I would LOVE to see a BuJo post. 😉

    (Wow this comment ended up being longer than I expected. 😛 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Scythe was super good! YESS read the Night Circus! I can’t recommend it enough now. I understand why people have been recommending it to me for years haha. Carnegie was AMAZING, and so was NYC. That’s so cool you got to learn some dance movements from Broadway. My band did actually go see a show. We saw Aladdin, which was outstanding. YAY! I may just have to plan out that BuJo post now…

      Like

  6. I hope that May is a better month for you and your blog💛 April was good for me because I moved into my first apartment and has been my most interactive month. I have been blogging a lot. I’ve never been to NY but I’d love to one day. I’m currently reading a book titled Ruined. It’s 3 books in 1 following the same characters life. I’m not sure yet how I feel about it I am only in the beginning of the 2nd part. It has kept me interested so far but not hooked.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, it really feels wonderful… besides paying rent lol! And yeah the book is okay so far, I’ll see how I really feel about it once I’m finished

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I’d love to see a BuJo post — I’m definitely going to be doing some discussions this month too! New York is awesome (or so I have been told) and you were so lucky to visit!!! My month was OKAY, though I only read 5 books like you…so? I bought the Hobbit & Eragon. I also got Rebel Of The Sands, Ink and Bone, Holding Up the Universe and Reckless from the library. I finished The One by Keira Cass yesterday and I think I liked it? It was an HEA ending so I’m not sure what to think – though I enjoyed it very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love reading discussions so much, so I can’t wait for yours! Any fun ideas? New York was super duper cool (college level writing am I right), and I highly recommend visiting if you ever get the chance! There are SO many people though, so be warned.
      Five books is still really solid!! The Hobbit is so long, so I wish you luck with that. I read Eragon when I was in middle school and I don’t remember much about it besides the fact that there were dragons, and I was a fan of that. Rebel of the Sands is on my TBR, partly because of that GORGEOUS cover. I loved Ink and Bone, hope you like it too!
      Yeah I had conflicted feelings about The One also. I liked it, but I also didn’t?? Man that whole series is so conflicting lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Carnegie Hall!? How exciting!! That’s so amazing that you got to visit New York for the first time AND perform there. I hope you also had the opportunity to explore interesting parts of the city 😀 Also, congrats on your upcoming graduation. I remember that time. Entering college is a wonderful experience. Which university will you be attending?
    It seems you had a wonderful month of reading. I’m so happy you loved Night Circus. That is one of my all-time favorite books so it warms me heart whenever I see someone else take a liking to it. And I’ve just bought Scythe and The Hate U Give. It’s really encouraging to see that you liked them. I’ll be checking out your reviews for them a little later this week! I read Daughter of the Pirate King about a week or two ago, and while I thought it fun, I’m not sure it was the BEST book I’ve read so far in 2017 haha. I’ll have to read your review to see what you thought of that one, too! I’ve got so much catching up to do because I basically disappeared for all of April too haha 😄 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! We did get to see some iconic parts of the city like Central Park, the Natural History Museum, Top of the Rock, and 5th Ave.
      I’ll be attending Western Washington University! Super duper excited. 😄
      I loved the Night Circus so much, and I definitely have to work on getting caught up on reviews! Yeah, I didn’t think DotPK was the BEST but it was good entertainment. I guess we all need a break from blogging every once and a while. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh THUG! I really have to pick up that one some time soon… And I love LOVE the descriptions in The Night Circus; it makes me wish I could visit IRL. Looks like you had a great month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

