Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Book Review

daughter of the pirate kingAuthor: Tricia Levenseller

Series: Daughter of the Pirate King #1

Genre: YA Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 320

Rating: ★★★☆☆

“I’m a pirate,” I remind him.
“Yes. I just can’t figure out if you’re a good pirate or a really good pirate.”

BLURB (GOODREADS)

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

divider

THOUGHTS

I love pirates, I really do. Yet, there are so few books that focus on the pirate lore, which is a shame because it’s extremely fun to read about. So, once I heard about Daughter of the Pirate King, I knew I needed to read it.

The book definitely gives me the pirate lore I crave in YA, but it does not come without it’s flaws. Overall, the book is an extremely enjoyable read. However, to me, that’s all it boils down to. There wasn’t any important morals present, I didn’t learn anything new from the book, and it isn’t necessarily a story that stayed with me.

So, if you go into the story expecting a fun pirate story, I’m sure you’ll absolutely love it. Part of that has to do with an excellent protagonist! Alosa is the daughter of the cruel and infamous pirate king who rules the sea. In the book, she’s on a mission for her father to retrieve a missing item. Alosa is quick witted, snarky, and not afraid to get what she wants. While the tone of the book is not very serious overall, Levenseller manages to strike a perfect balance with Alosa. She’s hilarious and makes things look easy, but then she’s also able to admit when she’s in over her head.

Our other main character is Riden, the first mate of the enemy ship that Alosa has been “captured” by. Unfortunately for me, Riden didn’t feel like much more than a love interest for Alosa. Yes, he’s charming, has entertaining banter with Alosa, and is loyal to no end… but so are many other YA love interests. Riden simply lacked any distinguishing qualities that set him apart from other characters.

Speaking of romance, I was not the biggest fan of the development between Alosa and Riden. Their story is difficult to put into words because it wasn’t exactly insta-love, but rather Alosa saying “Oh, I can’t be in love with him” even though she obviously is. Instead of focusing completely on her task, Alosa immediately notices how attractive Riden is, and ends up thinking about him more than her task. Personally, I just would’ve liked it better if the romance was allowed to develop naturally via the tension between the two.

There is one final element of the story that really surprised me, and I’m not sure if it was a good surprise. Going into the story, I wasn’t expecting any kind of supernatural element, and there was no build up to it in the first half. It just pops up all of the sudden in the second half, and felt quite out of place. Albeit, in the end I did enjoy the twist, I simply wish there was better foreshadowing before it was revealed.

Overall, Daughter of the Pirate King is SUCH a fun read, and I can’t not recommend it if you’re a sucker for pirates. However, it has some iffy elements that I wish I knew about going into the book. Even with that, I do recommend the book if you’re looking for a quick and entertaining read.

4 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller | Book Review

Leave a Reply

